telese terme market and my favourite organic stall

Foodie Friends!

The most beautiful trip to the market this morning; it was blessedly overcast which allowed at least an hour of tootling about, before the heat became impossibile.

img_0.14152093236830232

This is my favourite organic stall: Piera from Pontelandolfo is here year-round, but right now her wares are just divine...

img_0.800600719611229

I only buy a few veggies, as the gardens I work up here in Guardia Sanframondi are producing lots of things that Piera offers. It was particularly lovely seeing her today, as I hadn't been down in a couple of months, and then the veggie shop near me closed and it was a good reason to make the journey.

img_0.7104663501352417

The waters of Telese Terme are reknowned - cold sulphur springs - and two streams run by the mercato and converge... it's a gorgeous setting, by the water here, for the paesane stalls.

img_0.4453298335352587

Many of these stalls might be the last of their kind, if their children don't take them over: some younger folks are returning to the countryside and to traditional living - but more are interested in the wine & olives rather than vegetables and orti.

img_0.9102579255885612

Either way, I reap the abundance of fresh organic potatoes, marrows, green cabbage and apricots - which I didn't have to cultivate myself!

Blessings and love on your meals today

Clare.
www.livingingift.com
www.womanartsex.com

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center