Baked Sushi Recipe

Hello to all my foodie friends!
Another new week, another new recipe!

This time I will be cooking a Japanese recipe with a twist—not your typical sushi roll but instead a baked one in a casserole. If you're interested in this kind of cuisine, come along, as I will list the complete ingredients and how I prepare it so you can try it too.

png_20230626_193805_0000.png

Just to be clear, I'm not a pro at cooking; all I know about cooking comes from years of experience cooking for our family and my hobby of watching food shows and cooking videos on YouTube. I welcome all of your suggestions to help me develop my culinary skills and knowledge.

Just a quick introduction to the dish. Baked Sushi was previously popular On TikTok and Facebook. Because so many influencers and famous people are posting videos of themselves eating this dish, I decided to attempt making it myself after researching recipes online and selecting the finest options. Actually, I've cooked it three times now. My first attempt wasn't that good since I used crab sticks of poor quality, so I was unsatisfied. It worked the second time around! On my third try, I added cream cheese to further enhance the flavor and creaminess.

Let's start cooking!

Here is the complete list of ingredients I used in this recipe.
IMG_20230625_124049.jpg

Ingredients:

Sushi Rice

  • 3 cups cooked rice
  • 2 tbsp rice vinegar
  • 1/2 tbsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • Furekake seasoning

Creamy Topping

  • 1 cup of shredded and cut crab sticks
  • 1/2 cup Japanese Mayonnaise
  • 1 large ripe mango diced
  • 100 grams cream cheese
  • 2 tbsp Sriracha
  • pinch of salt
  • cheese (optional)
  • Nori sheets

Procedure:

  • Make the Sushi rice. Mix together the rice vinegar, sugar, and salt. Mix until the sugar and salt are completely dissolved.

  • In a bake-safe pan, combine fresh cooked rice (you can use Japanese short grain rice for more sticker rice; since I didn't have any, I just used regular white rice) and sesame oil. Add the vinegar mixture and toss it altogether.

  • Spread the rice evenly and press it down lightly.

IMG_20230626_205758.jpg

  • Sprinkle furekake seasoning on top of the rice. Cover before setting aside to keep the rice moist.
  • Prepare the topping. In a big bowl, combine the cream cheese and the Japanese Mayo. Mix until well incorporated.

IMG_20230625_130453.jpg

  • Add the crab sticks and diced mango (reserve some mango for toppings later) to the cream cheese and Mayo mixture. Mix well.

IMG_20230625_130622.jpg

  • Add the Sriracha.

IMG_20230625_130710.jpg

  • Assemble the sushi. Add the creamy topping to the rice layer that you set aside earlier. Spread it evenly.
  • Add the cheese and the remaining mango. Sprinkle a bit more furikake to add more color on top of the sushi bake.
  • Drizzle some Japanese mayo and Sriracha for the final touch before baking.
  • Bake at 180°C for 20 minutes.
  • Serve and enjoy by scooping a spoonful and wrapping it in nori.

IMG_20230625_133956.jpg

IMG_20230625_134019.jpg

There you have it, my creamiest and savory baked sushi recipe. I didn't post it until I was satisfied with the taste.😄

IMG_20230625_133453.jpg

I baked two trays and gave one to my neighbors so they could try them. I was happy to hear positive remarks, and one of them is already asking if I can bake some for her birthday.

I hope you enjoyed it and gave it a try too. I would love to hear your feedback!

That's all for me today, see you on my next one!

❤️❤️❤️

IMG_20230110_181754.png
The lead image was edited using Canva.
All photos were taken by me, unless stated otherwise.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center