Breaded cauliflower cutlet sandwich B.I.S.S.


DSC_2193.jpg
This is my entry to B.I.S.S. which is brought to you by @mondoshawan who was once a fierce and dedicated competitor in a sandwich contest given by @jaybird who has since spread his wings and landed on a piano keyboard where he remains.

I was there as an oddball who had nothing but plant based sandwiches. It was a nice get together and I met quite a few friends like @lizelle the master chef that makes everything drool worthy.

Today I come with another plant based sandwich.

I had gone to the supermarket across the street which has a poor selection and overpriced. To my astonishment I saw a bin of cauliflower for a dollar each. I have seen cauliflower for as much as eight dollars before.

Yes you bet I grabbed four heads. I should have grabbed more and put them in the freezer. In these times you never know if you'll need to reach for an emergency supply of cauliflower.

DSC_2094.jpg

There was no doubt that this would be in my sandwich. But who eats a cauliflower sandwich? I would have to make it fun so I sliced it and made some cutlets out of it.

DSC_2102.jpg

I used chickpea flour which I ground up from dried chickpeas. I thought I would keep it gluten free. That didn't happen.

I added a dash of salt, pepper, paprika, thyme, cumin, garlic powder and onion powder.

I made a slurry out of soy milk and tapioca starch. I dipped the cauliflower in the chickpea flour, then the slurry then the panko.

DSC_2107.jpg

At this point it changed from gluten free to not gluten free. This was going to make it more fun.

DSC_2110.jpg

To keep the damage down I browned it in a pan with oil then put it in the oven on 400F to cook completely. It was nice and crispy on the outside.
DSC_2132.jpg
At the end I decided to go into a direction of sweet and spicy Asian-ish sauce. I chopped up some sweet peppers, jalapeno pepper which is all I had for heat, garlic, onion, and ginger. I added soy sauce, agave nectar, rice vinegar, and a little tapioca starch. I would have used cornstarch but I didn't have any. It worked fine as a thickener.

DSC_2141.jpg

The bread was slightly redeeming. It was spelt which was low gluten. It was nicely toasted in the oven, because I don't have a toaster.

DSC_2144.jpg

I put the cauliflower on the bread moving it around to make it fit. A bun would have been easier.

DSC_2146.jpg

The sauce and some lettuce would be all that could fit. The sauce did the job of any other ingredients.

DSC_2148.jpg

I had to press it down a bit to manage it.

DSC_2179.jpg

DSC_2192.jpg

DSC_2187.jpg

Don't forget to make your sandwiches and drop them in the post folks. Everyone makes sandwiches. No excuses!

Have a great day!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
35 Comments
Ecency