Skillet Leftover Surprise: Turkey, Broccoli and Mushrooms

It was another night to piece together leftovers for a meal. Perusing the refrigerator, my eyes honed in on these ingredients for a quick stir fry-style dinner.

IMG_8532.jpeg

I began by slicing up crimini mushrooms and broccoli into bite-sized portions. It was important to slice the mushrooms thick, as broccoli takes a bit longer to soften and I wanted the veggies to soak up each other's flavors. I also chopped up some leftover turkey for a protein element.

IMG_8531.jpeg

Butter, olive oil and sesame oil blended on medium high heat in my pan, to which I added a couple of lemon slices. This infused a light citrus element that complimented the harsh flavor broccoli can impart.

IMG_8533.jpeg

Once the lemon had darkened slightly, I added my veggies and cooked until almost perfect. That's when I tossed in the turkey, along with a splash of white wine. My preference for these flavors was an albariño, which pulled all of the flavors together. It only took two minutes for the alcohol to dissipate, during which I sprinkled on some salt and pepper, and tossed often.

IMG_8534.jpeg

Now that my flavors were combined and the ingredients were thoroughly warmed, there was only one thing left to do: Pour some wine, put my meal into a bowl, and relax!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center