Mince Rotis from scratch

A brilliant alternative


A couple days ago I had planned on making some soul food: spaghetti bolognese, but we had run out of cheese for the topping so I scrapped that and had to come up with another plan.

I decided to make mince rotis, using a similar mince mixture but I added two grated carrots to it and reduced the liquid in the mince sauce by letting it simmer on low heat for longer.


Fotor_165386395833837.jpg


Rotis are similar to wraps, an uneven flatbread that you fry to cook.

It's basically just bread flour, oil and water.

Of course I offered to let LL help me as she loves anything that requires the use of dough and a rolling pin.

2 cups of flour (we used brown bread flour)
Half a cup of oil (we used vegetable oil)
2 to 2,5 cups of boiling water (we used normal water lol)



You start by adding the oil to the flour and mixing it. It doesn't mix very well to be honest because of the ratio, then add one cup of water at a time until it starts becoming dough like.

Then knead by hand and roll out into a sausage.

I used the opportunity to do some math practice with LL as she cut them up from 1 into 2, then two into 4 and 4 into 8 pieces. It's amazing how many opportunities you get in a day to practice arithmetic if you look for them.



She diligently cut the dough and rolled it into balls, counting all the while. She even made an Olaf the Snowman which she laughed heartily at.



Then came her favourite part - rolling out the dough into circles while I got the pan ready to cook them.


Fotor_165386393426418.jpg


They don't take long to cook, and seeing as I had already made the mince prior, we just had to spoon the mince in, roll them up and add a topping of sour cream.


Fotor_165386399992667-01.jpeg


They were a delightful alternative to spaghetti and very tasty indeed. I think that LL and I enjoyed the process of making them together as much as we enjoyed munching them.


All images are my own

Heart Light Grey.png

Backing5.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now