Uttara's Sichuan Flame ~ Dim Sum Treats With Family | Pre-Victory Of Bangladesh

Hello guys, I hope you all are doing well today.

_897462a8-e9ea-4aa5-bb18-6463708e93ce.jpg

After a bloody student protest in my country, I recall a time when the overthrown government was doing all of the dirty business in broad daylight. At the same time, I had the fortune of having a meal with my family in this delectable establishment.

Without further ado, let's begin!

hive.png

The Plan

It was simple with nothing exciting going on. My semester break had just started and everyone else was also on their time off work. So, my elder brother had the idea of hitting a restaurant that was 10km away which served Korean cuisine. Even though I had similar cuisine just a week before, I agreed.

The Journey

What was supposed to be a 40-minute ride ended up being a 2-and-a-half-hour snoozefest as the route we were to take was blocked. We took a long detour before finally reaching this restaurant, at Uttara.

hive.png

The Place

IMG_7042.jpeg

The first detail to mention was the ambiance and their invitational aura. It felt great and after requesting a better spot, they conveniently sent us to the next available spot which was underneath an air cooler, perfect for my overstimulated exocrine gland.

IMG_7041.jpeg

However, all that airy vibe went out the window as soon as I combed through the beverage. Most of their items were high priced for a peasant like me. I got a bottle of water before selecting their most popular dishes.

IMG_7043.jpeg

Their welcome drink is probably one of my favourites. It is a tea containing honey, ginger, and tea leaves; a perfect blend for detoxifying the stomach.

IMG_7045.jpeg

We got chicken and Prawn Sui Mai for the appetizer, which was slapped. However, the minute amount they provided on top of being miniature-sized made it unlikeable.

IMG_7048.jpeg

For the main dish, I got their DST Special Fried rice. This bad boy was similar to what I had in Yum Cha and had a similar spice level. Even so, the egg did not have that perfect golden yolk. It might've been my fault as I didn't ask them how I like my eggs cooked.

IMG_7049.jpeg

For the side dish, we got the Sambal Beef. This stuff was also spicy and not for most white folk. I liked my spoons clean when I scooped them up and mixed them with the already spicy rice.

IMG_7050.jpeg

This next one was basically a fried chicken and a sauce on top and it was good. A solid 8. And the sauce was heavy so it went well with the rice and chicken.

IMG_7051.jpeg

Lastly, we got the roasted beef with cumin leeks. This dish had a great aroma with a low spice level. The beef was soft and had good taste but the amount was disappointing as it was not even filled to the brim.

IMG_7047.jpeg

Overall, I would not get into this place again if not for family as their food, though immensely mouth-watering, the quantity was low. Their rice item, however, was provided in bulk and that's what every Asian wants.

IMG_7052.jpeg

Just before finishing the plate, I saved up all the best parts of each dish and put it in my spoon to create the perfect spoonful of spicy and flavorsome delicacy. You can see the golden heaviness on the plate, that is the Sichuan spice dabbling with oil.

IMG_7054.jpeg

We left the place 30 minutes after finishing the food as my brother rested up for the driving session he was about to have. We all expected the worst as our original time estimation was wrong.

_d7a21b7b-094a-42df-9584-7dfd50b7c1bc.jpg

Thank you, guys, for reading this far, see you legends on the next one!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now