Recent to the record collecting scene, here's my story

I'm fairly new to collecting records, though I am old enough to remember when records were still a thing. I am older than CDs, though people having them was still a novelty for a while.

Anyway, that's beside the point. Long after all of my records were disposed of and all the good records were thrown out, replaced by new fangled CDs (assuming they hadn't yet been replaced by cassettes), I ended up with a record player.
It was a Kenwoods separate stack, and a wonderful thing it is, too.

KENWOOD-Hi-Fi-6-PIECE-STACK-SYSTEM-WITH-SPEAKERS.webp
(This one isnt my photo, but it is the same one)

And this was the beginning of the end for me.

I really enjoy the tactile feeling of a record. Moving the needle, lowering it gently, the little pops and crackles before the music starts. I have since researched record mastering and pressing, and although I know how the system works, the fact that a flat disc of PVC makes sound is still somewhat of a mystery.

Anyway, the turn table was a bit basic, so it was upgraded to a Pro-ject Primary which, though beautiful, was even more basic with no auto return and the speed selector being a rubber band you manually move on a spindle.

Screen-Shot-2017-11-20-at-15.22.23.webp

Isnt it majestic? Not the point. I was down about it, it wasn't EXACTLY what I wanted. For a start it was missing what I considered to be fairly basic features.

Then I found my current turn table. It was at our local tip. It had been loved once, but neglected, but I was going to take care of it. It is a Yamaha YP-B2.

download.jpg

Beautiful silver tone arm, wood grain plinth, what a lovely thing. She needed some repair work, but I know my way around a soldering iron, so that was done quickly and now she spins discs all day long. And the best part? Auto return.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center