Homemade Aloe Vera Body and Hair Lotion

Winter tends to dry my skin due to the cold temperature, low humidity, and indoor heating. I've formulated a simple aloe vera lotion to nourish my skin and hair, and I would love to share it with you.

Aloe vera is often referred to as a "plant pharmacy" due to its wide array of medicinal properties and uses. It helps promote wound healing, soothe skin irritations, provide immediate relief from sunburn with its cooling properties, and hydrate the skin without leaving it feeling greasy.

Additionally, its antimicrobial properties can help reduce acne breakouts and minimize the appearance of scars by promoting skin tissue regeneration and reducing inflammation. When consumed orally, the juice may also help with digestive issues such as acid reflux, irritable bowel syndrome, and constipation.

Some research suggests that aloe vera has immune-boosting properties due to its antioxidant content, helping the body fight off infections and illnesses. You can find it in some natural toothpaste and mouthwash products due to its antibacterial properties. I'm sure there are many more benefits I haven't mentioned.

I always keep an aloe vera plant indoors. This poor plant was the victim of this lotion formula, as the outdoor ones are all wilted and won't be seen until summer.

Here's how I made it:

What you'll need:

100 ml aloe vera gel
2.5 ml Vitamin E oil
40 ml virgin coconut oil
7 g beeswax
100 ml almond oil (or any preferred oil. (infused with aloe vera leaves but optional.)
Essential oil of your choice (popular options include rosemary, lavender, chamomile, and tea tree oil for skincare due to their calming and antibacterial properties)

I've cut a few of its leaves.

I scraped the gelatinous juice inside, blended it, and set it aside.

I chopped the rest of the leaves and mixed them with 100 ml of oil.

Then I heated it in a double boiler until the oil changed to a somewhat golden-green color.

Next, I strained and set it aside.

In a double boiler, I melted the beeswax.

Once melted, I added the virgin coconut oil and then the aloe vera-infused oils, following with the aloe vera juice. I stirred until thoroughly mixed. Then, I removed it from the heat and let it cool in the freezer for at least 15 minutes.

After cooling, I blended it until creamy and added the vitamin E and essential oils. I blended it again before transferring it to a sterilized container.

I have added peppermint to increase skin blood circulation, blended it with grapefruit for freshness, then added lavender for a floral scent and rosemary for some herbal scent.

Since this lotion contains natural ingredients and no preservatives, it's best to store it in a cool, dark place and use it within a few weeks to ensure freshness and effectiveness.

It gives me peace of mind knowing that this lotion is full of goodness and has no harsh chemicals that will harm my body.

I hope I have inspired you to make your own homemade aloe vera lotion.

Have a wonderful day, everyone!

Mariah 🍃

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center