Garden update - The Cause of Rotting Roots of my PAPAYA Tree (July 06, 2021)

Whenever I come home from the office, the first thing I pass by and visit is my plants. I need to find out their condition because of the heat of the weather right now here in the country where I live. This time I focused on the root of my papaya what really happened why did it rot?

I pulled it out slowly and I felt that the bottom of the papaya tree was really soft. Here I proved that the bottom of the root of the papaya tree was drowned in the water! The papaya root drowned because the amount of water I was giving was not appropriate in the heat of the weather! It should be just a little water a day.

What I did was I watered almost more than 2 buckets of water a day! It was accompanied by the heat of the weather which gave off the heat of the steam underground so it eventually rotted the root slowly. This is a mistake of mine that I am not aware of. Now I know what I should do.

There was no problem with the soil or fertile soil, the problem was the heat of the weather and too much water that I watered the papaya tree. You can see in the picture what happened at the root of my papaya tree. It really rotted and softened!

Papaya root is like melted paper. But the body of the papaya tree is fine and healthy and the fruit is also good but it won't last long so I picked it.

What I will replace now with the removed papaya tree is Watermelon. Everything is ready and I'm just waiting for it to sprout and grow big enough to move. Now, I have learned in this kind of climate in the UAE what is appropriate to plant.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now