artisan cheese-making in rural Italia


I came across this old favourite of a trip to see Mario and his family, when they were making cacio cavallo cheese. He and his brother work with a small herd of cows on the wild, wooded hillside near Sepino (CB). All is done without automation, and without added interference, which makes their cheese another-level authentic.

My American friend who accompanied me, commented on his not disinfecting his pots (or hands), and I chuckled when I replied...

The traditional creative process isn't something that can be reproduced by modern methods in sterilised situations, and it is vital that we keep and protect older ways, that maintain our profound, even sacred connection with cycles, rhythms and wholeness of nature.


▶️ 3Speak

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now