Simple Herbal Remedies to Combat Nausea on the Road and at Home ~ Ginger, Mint, and Homeopathic Tabacum

When I was a child I could spend hours swinging or zipping around on the merry-go-round then jump off feeling just fine. Around the age of 25 something changed and since then nausea is an often occurring symptom. I think most adults can relate to this. The thing is, nausea has many different causes but, luckily, there is an herb to help with pretty much every source of nausea! Read on for a few of my favorite herbal allies ...

Ginger ~

Very well known as a culinary herb and for good reason. Ginger is a carminative herb which means that it is a warming, digestive tonic. This herb is often included in food not only for it's flavor but also for the herbal actions of helping the body digest and generate heat. Ginger is the herb to reach for if nausea is a product of poor, or slow, digestion.

I began growing ginger last summer in a couple of recycled pots not only for their benefits for indigestion but also because they are a great herb to drink for abdominal cramps due to menstrual inflammation.

Both ginger and turmeric are surprisingly easy to grow. during the rainy season the natural precipitation was sufficient to keep them going and when winter weather took over I simply dug them out of their pot, washed off the rhizomes and set them to dry.

I also made a tea to keep me company while I did the rest of my gardening tasks. Personally I always feel a bit off the days before and during my period. Most often a bit grumpy and uncomfortable due to cramps and ginger always is a great herb to alleviate that. I also love the red color the roots get when steeped in water or boiled.

Personally I have never been pregnant but, I have heard from so many friends morning sickness is a big bummer and makes the first trimester of pregnancy very tiresome. Small amounts of ginger in tea can be helpful but, I must emphasize the word small. Ginger promotes circulation to the uterus so, cups and cups of ginger infusion is to be avoided as this could lead to a miscarriage. It is not very likely but, it must be mentioned here.

Mint ~

is such a common plant that some people consider it a weed and many overlook it's medicinal properties entirely. Honestly I did for a while also. When I was younger I even removed it from my garden when it "took over" a section where I had intended to grow vegetables.

Now I cherish the abundance of mint and it's close relative catnip for the digestive properties they provide. A few months ago I woke up in the middle of the night feeling vertigo. My head was spinning and I felt like I would be sick. So, I rushed outside and sat on the ground next to a mint plant in the front yard. Despite the cold I felt called to take off my shoes and ground my feet on the Earth directly as I chewed on some mint.

And ... It worked! On a physical level mint has dozens of healing attributes beyond helping out the digestive system. I suggest reading the post @ligayagardener wrote about peppermint to get the full spectrum of herbal actions.

As you can see someone else has recently covered the affects mint (specifically peppermint) on the physical body. I want to focus on the effects of mint at a spiritual level because I believe that mints of all varieties have the power to bring us to the present. The essential oils contained in the leaves and flowers are great for taking our minds out of the dream world and brining us down to Earth. And, as a constant dreamer I believe the very often my nausea is a result of my tendency to be "up in the clouds" day dreaming about other realities when my body is struggling to bring me back to Earth. Mint as well as grounding are key to keeping me present.

Herbal Preparations ~

If you have the time and supplies making a herbal tea with ginger, fennel leaf, or mint is a great way to deal with nausea. But, sometimes time and circumstances don't allow for tea making. When we were traveling my partner and I spent hours and even days on the road hitchhiking. Sometimes we were picked up by a family driving carefully and other times by reckless drivers, winding through the curvaceous roads of the Andes. In such moments having a pre-made remedy on hand was a lifesaver.

Between our days of travel we would stay weeks at a time on organic farms where we could rest, reset, and prepare some supplies to continue on again. On one such farm I had access to a few calming herbs as well as mint to make a "anti-car sickness vinegar". The ingredients were simply ginger, lavender, and mint in apple cider vinegar though vodka would have probably been better tasting and more shelf-stable.

Homeopathic Tabacum ~

Even more practical for life on the road are the ultra-compact homeopathic remedies! I know next to nothing about homeopathy besides that they work. And, like the eclectic herbalists I tend to use remedies that work even if I don't fully understand how. There are a couple of remedies that I keep with my no matter where I go.

Along with eye liner, mascara, a calendula salve, bobby pins, and ear plugs two remedies have made it into my travel makeup bag. As you can see one has been so often used that the label is nearly worn off, that is Tabacum 30c from Boiron Homeopathy. I take one little pill before I step into the car to prevent car sickness and, it always works!

Honestly, there are so many other remedies I could mention here. But, my goal in sharing here on HIVE isn't to overwhelm you with herb names and facts. Rather, I hope to slowly show the world that herbs do have measurable effects and that simple remedies work as well (or better) than complex pharmaceuticals and without the undesirable side effects. In the future I want to talk about acupressure and how simple movements and massages can have wonderous affects on the body too. For now, let us keep things simple with my three favorite herbal remedies to combat nausea.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center