Plant Allies for Haircare ~ Henna & Coffee

Hair is an odd part of the body. It isn't strictly essential like the organs under our skin. Many people shave their heads completely and go about life happy to be rid of the extra maintenance that taking care of hair requires. Still, hair is important. Non-voluntary hair loss is none-the-less an signifier of issues going on within the body, so when I started to loose quantities of hair in my late 20's I began to research how to take better care of my hair.

This post has been years in the making! I have tried out all kinds of remedies and products to encourage hair growth and to take care of the hair I have. Now, at 31, my hair is healthier than it has been in years. Diet and lifestyle are huge factors to this transformation. I plan to discuss those aspects of hair care as well as other herbal preparations that have improved the health of my scalp and hair follicles. This post, I think, will be just one of a series of articles delving into taking care of hair with herbs, diet, and lifestyle.

Today's post is going to lean a bit more towards beauty and art rather than strictly health. But, as I mentioned previously, the quality and quantity of our hair can be an indicator of health. As far as I am concerned health and beauty go hand in hand! Brushing carefully (and daily) and using gentle products are both essential steps. For a few years now I have been making my own solid shampoo with all natural ingredients and doing monthly "hair masks" with two herbs that you are probably familiar with; Henna and Coffee. So, Let's discuss these preparations and their herbal actions.

Henna ~ Lawsonia Inermis

The leaves from this Asiatic tree have been used for centuries to dye fabric, as a semi-permanent skin dye, and to darken hair too. Beyond simply imparting a chestnut hue to our locks, henna actually strengthens the hair and promotes growth. Where chemical dyes actually debilitate hair strands by altering their physical make up, henna is kind of like adding a coat of paint to the hair. The henna forms a protective layer around the hair, which adds thickness and color to each strand, kind of like a redish-brown armor.

After years of using henna on my hair I can attest that it really does strengthen each strand. I spend a lot of time outdoors where my hair is often exposed to intense sun. Sunshine is really essential to our health but there is such a thing as too much time in the sun, especially for us pale people. Monthly henna treatments are like giving my hair a layer of sunscreen.

My dad is red headed and so are my mother's brothers, my hair color is light brown, sort of dirty blonde, with little hints of red due to my Celtic ancestry. So henna actually doesn't change the color of my hair too much. That is where the coffee comes in. But, no matter if you have jet black hair or blonde, henna can help protect and strengthen your locks. Just keep in mind that it will give your hair a slightly reddish or chesnut color, even if your hair is very dark.

Coffee ~ Coffea arabica

Over the years I have seen tons of commercial shampoos and conditioners that include coffee, or even just caffeine. with the promise that it will stimulate hair growth. I tend to want to DIY rather than buy and so I began adding coffee to my hair care routine.


(after my morning cup of coffee has been drunk, I recycle the ground by making another batch for my hair. About once a week I simply wash my hair with this weak coffee, and also add it to my monthly hair masks)

Henna, when used on the scalp, also stimulates hair growth and combats dandruff which is often the reason why hair growth is stunted to begin with. But, henna will stain the scalp a red-ish hue for days or weeks at a time, especially if you have pale skin. I have found that coffee does slightly darken (or "brown-en") hair but doesn't effect the color of the scalp. For this reason I like to combine henna, coffee, and sometimes essential oils instead of using henna alone.

My Monthly Hair Mask Recipe

In a clean glass jar I add a couple of tablespoons of henna. I usually buy pre-mixed henna that is already a liquid consistency. You can also buy powdered henna to which you should add coffee, aloe gel, or water. Keep in mind that the dying affect of henna is negated by oil. Then I add three drops of mint essential oil. This isn't necessary but is great for anyone who is experiencing dandruff. Lastly I add about 3 tablespoons of coffee.

Then, I mix the concoction well and begin painting it onto my hair with a natural makeup brush. Due to the coffee this mixture is really liquid which makes it easy to spread over my long locks. But, it is also a bit messy so I always wear clothing that I don't mind staining and wipe off any drips that land on my skin or the skin as soon as I see them.

The protective qualities of henna combined with the stimulating qualities of coffee have helped me recover from those years where my hair was thin and nearly life-less. And now that it is winter I am so thankful to my thick blanket of hair that keeps my head and neck warm.

I know that some degree of hair loss is simply part of aging. I also know that hair loss is often attributed to genetic factors, especially among men, and that herbs can't totally reverse genetics. There are some things about growing older that we all have to accept. Even so, while I can I want to appreciate and love the hair I have and give it all it needs to thrive. There is so much more to say on the subject, in fact, I am pretty sure that this is just part one of a whole series on herbs that I use for hair care. So, stay tuned!


(The herbalist at work ; on a good hair day following a monthly henna/coffee hair mask)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now