#EarthDeeds: Giving My SCOBYs Back To Mother Earth

It LOOKS disgusting - like 3 day old chicken meat. Urgh. Mentally it's always a challenge for me to do this little chore. But as soon as I get through the visual and textural triggers, I LOVE it.

Kombucha Day means I have 2 BIG glass jars of kombucha brewed - the 2 big bottles (about 4.5 liters) going to my friend, Andy, this afternoon to help support him through chemotherapy. The other 4.5 liters goes into OUR fridge - Miss 15 and I have some everyday - sometimes just by itself but often as the smoothie base for our morning Super Smoothie.

Kombucha flavour de jour? This week fresh lychee & pomelo.

Scoby1 2.jpg

After it's bottled, I put the 2 nicest scobies aside (in the blue bowl) with a little bit of brew as a starter - just waiting for the tea-sugar combination to cool enough to slide them in without killing anything.

What's a SCOBY? It stands for symbiotic culture of bacteria and yeast and is the bacterial colony which ferments the tea-sugar and create the healing magic.

Scoby2 2.jpg

Often I give them away to people looking to start their own kombucha making, but the last months with everyone locked up or away and the weather being really hot I have HUGE scobys and no people.

Time for my fav #earthdeed!

Scoby3 2.jpg

Chop it up into smaller pieces using a cleaver. It smells fresh and vinegary, but the texture and visuals always put me off. Like old chicken breast meat. Eeeew.

And so I keep my focus on the task, and think about something else, and sing.

I'm rehabilitating our old Thai garden - the soil in the 100 year old veggie beds is awful and has been depleted beyond belief. And so I layer on sweepings from the frangipani tree, dust and sand to help break up the clay, charcoal, clippings from other herbs and plants, and SCOBY!!

Scoby4 2.jpg

I spread it out and cover it over with a thin layer of mulch, so the scoby can break down and keep enriching the soil.

Is it working? I had the welcoming team gathered to meet me when I scraped back the mulch this morning! šŸ˜ I am one happy Earth Mama when I see that!!

Scoby5 2.jpg

I'm planning to plant this bed in the coming weeks and looking forward to fresh greens -zucchinis, rocket, cucumber and arugula. YUM.

Enriching the soil is our collective JOB. One little patch, one garden bed, one small forest clearing at a time.

Are YOU doing some cool and fun #earthdeeds you can share to inspire and encourage others on Hive? Use #earthdeeds and post in Natural Medicine community @hive-120078 so that both communities can curate and I can support your content in my weekly Natural Medicine Earth Healing curation.

Appreciating @ELAmental's wonderful tag initiative and encouraging you to join us.

BlissednBlessed

Untitled design 8.png

All images used in my posts are created and owned by myself, unless specifically sourced. If you wish to use my images or my content, please contact me.


Come check out my natural Thai herbal businessā€¦ yes, we ship world-wide

pure thai naturals 3.png
Visit our online store here



Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive


ABUNDANCE TRIBE.gif
Creating Abundance for & on Hive

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center