A visit to a train museum

I love trains! And I love film photography! Combine the two and we get a photo like the one below.

image

I visited a train museum. It was fairly dark inside and I only had ISO 100 film, Kodak TMax 100, so I had to be very careful about camera shake. Sadly, my hands are really unstable, even though I'm not someone in their 80s hit by Parkinson's.

Another challenge was the limited space in the hall. I put on my Pentax 24mm f/3.5 lens - the widest one I had with me. At least it is more forgiving when it comes to camera shake. There was this gorgeous locomotive but it was right next to a window. The extra light was welcome, but I was literally just some 2 meters away from the wall. I had to be brave. I estimated the focus, set the exposure, cocked the shutter and leaned the camera right against the window. It was risky - maybe I would mess up the composition, or maybe I misfocused - after all I had to keep my lens wide open. To my surprise, it worked out better than expected. It was worth risking a ruined frame.

CameraAsahi Pentax Spotmatic
LensPentax 24mm f/3.5
FilmKodak TMax 100
Format35mm

The photo and the story are posted on my other social platforms, too.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now