A positive experience

For a long time, I've been thinking about what kind of meaningful post to share with the community. I have collected a set of film photos to share, but I was waiting for inspiration to strike. Well, bad decision. It's been more than a month since I posted last time. Maybe I should drop the high expectations.

Today I will share my recent positive experience (pun intended).

I usually make film negatives, but this time I was using slide film. The examples below are taken on Fomapan R 100 film and developed at home. No post-processing after scanning, though, I would digitally add some contrast for more drama.

I took the photos a few months ago when the first leaves were starting to pop up on tree branches.

I like the translucency and the beautiful yellow-green colour, though the latter is obviously is missing in my frames.

I like shallow depth of field, as you can see. It attracts the eye better to the subject.

Slightly back-focused, but luckily, the other leaf ended up within the depth-of-field range.

I'm still not sure if I need to rotate this one by 90 degrees... maybe not.

At least this one is certainly in portrait mode.

Let's end with a slightly different frame, a whole branch with leaves.

But so why did I title my post "a positive experience"?

In addition to these photos being slides, the results were better than expected for a Foma film. I would still take Scala, but every now and then, it is worth experimenting. Scala 50 is less grainy, the contrast is stronger and the blacks deeper. I probably overexposed a bit my frames, since they all look somewhat pale, but also, the subjects were light in tones since nearly all of them had sunshine passing through the translucent leaves. The last frame where the sun is behind my back, the leaves are a bit darker.

CameraAsahi Pentax Spotmatic
LensVivitar 90mm f/2.8
FilmFomapan R 100
Format35mm

The photos and the story are (or will be) posted on my other social platforms, too.
https://linktr.ee/neurodivergent_ai

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now