A flea market gem

Recently, @solymi asked me to post some photos from my new (well, new to me!) 6x9 camera that I randomly came across.

Flea markets are usually full of items that can be put into use. I appreciate it that their owners decided to give them away instead of throwing them to the trash. Sometimes the items are complete junk, but still, a flea market is a great place to find unique treasures. You never know what you might come across – from jewellery and vintage clothes to furniture and art. I always enjoy browsing, looking for hidden gems.

That is indeed what happened several months ago. Tech always catches my eye. I cannot deny that I am a hardcore geek. One with a preference for vintage. There is a special feeling to items that survived through the years. And, well, when it comes to cameras, many here will agree that true photography is done in the original way. I already own several film cameras, but I spotted a foldable camera looking for a new owner. I examined it and it seemed quite promising. The shutter was working, the lens was in good condition, and, as far as I could see, there were no holes in the bellows. Best of all - it was a 6x9 camera made by Belca. I had not previously heard of the manufacturer, but that does not matter.

I bought the camera and quickly headed home to get some film and go test it. It was behaving well and the photos were correctly exposed. What I really like about it is the huge negatives that it produces, yet it folds in a compact form. The only downside is that there is no rangefinder, so focusing close can be tricky. The Meritar lens it is equipped with is, expectedly, a bit too soft for my taste wide open (though, I have to note that I am very demanding to my gear). Stopping down to f/11 and f/16 was producing very nice results. Here are a few examples taken on different films.

Here is a seascape on Fuji Accros. This was, actually, my first use of this film, and I like the results, so I have already bought a second roll.

image

The next sample is slightly overexposed, but not a complete disaster. It is taken on Ilford SFX200.

image

The last example is a special one. The film is Foma Retropan. It has this vintage look, and LOTS of grain, especially that this is ISO 320. I doubt I will ever use it again, but I am glad I tried it.

image

All films are developed at home.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now