Campsite Cleanup #23: S-Tree Campground, KY, Where I Cleaned Up My Final Campsite Of 2021 And Didn't Find Anything Interesting

camp.jpeg


Happy New Year everyone, @otherbrandt here reporting for duty with about as much enthusiasm as I could manage to salvage from where it was scattered sadly across the floor all good and mixed up with all the shattered dreams and broken promises I keep forgetting to sweep up and stop thinking so much about. I sincerely hope your 2022 is off to a start that's at least slightly more than mediocre and unremarkable like the start that mine is off to. As usual I have more or less nothing useful to say about anything at all but I'm going to say things anyways so bear with me while I grind my way through yet another Campsite Cleanup that I've been putting off writing about since before I even arrived at the campsite and cleaned it up if that makes any sense.

So here's the story:

Recently me and my old unfaithful and always disgraceful Subaru, Yolo McFukitol, were dug in and hunkered down camping and having a few dozen beers at the S-Tree Campground in the Daniel Boone National Forest near McKee, Kentucky. It was a very fine campground indeed with only one other human anywhere to be seen (and a quiet agreeable one at that), and had the Forest Service not announced that starting in 2022 it would be adjusting the fee from None to $15/Night me and YMF would certainly be planning to return. Alas, such is life when you reside in a country that cares about little besides funding its war machine and world police force.

Let's get right into it now, shall we?


1.jpeg

Ohhh, a bottle would you look at that. We're off to a good start here. I couldn't tell what was inside it but it looked like congealed blood.

3.jpeg

So I suppose this is probably the plastic bag they used to suffocate the victim.

2.jpeg

If you look closely you can see what appears to be bloodspatter.

rope.jpeg

Looks like they attempted a lynching at some point. Pretty shoddy work if you ask me.

warning.jpeg

Tobacco for the poor bastard's last cigarette?

cigs.jpeg

Meanwhile the killers chain-smoked their way through several packs. Not nice, not nice at all.

haul.jpeg

Anyhow.

s-tree.jpeg

I searched all over that campground and couldn't find the body.

road.jpeg

It's probably for the best, though, because I didn't have any room for it in my car and it's not like I could have just strapped it across the hood and driven away because this is America and you aren't actually free to just do whatever you want when you live in an authoritarian state like I do.

※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※

🏕 🚙 💀

※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※


1-4-22. This is the last Cleanup I'll be publishing for a while because I'm staying with family over the holiday season and they've kindly agreed to let me sleep on their nice warm basement floor and use the shower once a week. Campsites are therefore unnecessary for the time being and I really can't see myself cleaning one up until I hit the road again which will happen in approximately the exact number of days between now and whenever I feel like hitting the road again. Let me know in the comments if you'd like me to continue this series even though let's be honest you already know that regardless of what you say I'm going to continue it anyway. Thanks and God bless – @brandt.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center