COPING WITH MY EMOTIONS

Life can be challenging, and there are moments when feelings become too intense to handle easily.

Have I ever felt overwhelmed by my emotions?
Yes, I have felt overwhelmed with my emotions which is normal as we are all humans.

How do I cope with my emotions?
I try as much as possible to acknowledge my emotions whenever I feel overwhelmed, rather than ignoring them.

I also find that talking to someone can be really effective. Be it a family member, close friend or a loved one, sharing what I'm going through with someone helps me a lot. It's true the person might not have a solution but sharing it feels like part of the weight has been lifted, I'll feel much lighter.


Image is mine
I don't do this often but sometimes it helps. I put my feelings in black and white, writing helps me with my emotions, it's just like having a chat with myself.

Sometimes, when emotions are particularly strong, I take a stroll around. Just taking a stroll through nature really helps me to take my mind off things. It helps to clear my mind and brighten my mood.

I also practice mindfulness and deep breathing exercises. I have seen this coping mechanism several times in movies, I never thought it worked because how will breathing in and out help someone. I then decided to try it out and it worked, but I don't do it alone. Usually after taking deep breath, I then take a stroll, if I don't do it like that, then taking a deep breath feels like a waste of time.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center