Genesis League Goals: Tips for Selecting a Team

Genesis League Goals: Tips for Selecting a Team

Screenshot 2023-12-01 at 1.57.46 PM.png

Genesis League Goals is HIVE blockchain game on the Genesis League Sports Platform where players use U.S.Major League Soccer NFTs to play against one another to earn GLX crypto tokens. Come and join the fun at https://goals.genesisleaguesports.com/

Screenshot 2023-12-06 at 12.53.07 PM.png

Some Helpful Links To Start

Coaches.jpg

Team Selection Basics

Salary Cap

Each team consists of 1 Coach, 2 Defenders, 2 Midfielders, and 2 Forwards. Players may have 5 players on the bench to sub into matches and 15 reserves that can also be added to the starting team roster or bench. The salary cap for each team is 360. This means that your starting players and bench players cannot add up to more than 360. Reserves do not count toward that total. Each player's cost of the total of their offense and defensive stats. Teams must be under the salary cap to play. So, you may have to sacrifice some defensive stats on your forwards to ensure you have strong midfielders, or you might beef up your defensive players while you decrease your MF offensive stats. The balancing is what makes this game such a challenge. Even when you bring in a player from reserves, you must maintain the 360 cost cap. Learn about the cards here: @gls.goals/genesis-league-goals-card-leveling-and-combining
More on Salary Cap here: https://support-goals.genesisleaguesports.com/hc/en-us/articles/18964812652820

Subs and Reserves

Each team can add sub or bench players and reserves. Bench players can sub into a match at halftime, whereas reserves can only be added between matches. Reserves do not count towards your salary cap; bench players do. Currently, you have to fill your bench before you can add reserves (this may change in later game updates). Reserves are players that can replace your starters to play more matches when a player's health decreases. Between matches, you can swap in reserve players without impacting your team synergy (synergy is not yet live in game but coming soon). I like to think of my reserves as my second team. Bench players can replace starters at halftime. I sometimes bring in bench players if the health, morale, or stamina of a starter is low. See more on health, stamina and morale here: https://support-goals.genesisleaguesports.com/hc/en-us/articles/21558137415316

Player's Health

Players have a limited amount of time they can play in a 24-hour period. Each turn in the match (matches are 20 turns per half, or 40 turns per game) all players on the field lose .5% of their health. So at the half, all players have lost 10% of their health and at the end of the match they have lost 20% of their health (Coach Ben Power is half that). Only players on the field lose health. So you can bring in a player off the bench and they would lose 10% in the half in which they play. As a result, each player can be on the field for 5 full matches in a row each. Health does regenerate over time. Therefore bench and reserve players are helpful if you want your team to play more matches throughout the day. More on players' health here: https://support-goals.genesisleaguesports.com/hc/en-us/articles/21558137415316

Coaches

Every great team starts with a great coach. Krel has a great post on picking your coach you can see here: @greenmask9/genesis-league-goals-coaches-tier-in-current-version-071223. Each coach has unique qualities and abilities that influence your team. To learn more about the coach's abilities go here: @gls.goals/coach-abilities-genesis-league-goals. Also note that your coach's level determines the max level your players, so be sure you upgrade your coach(combine coach cards) first. Most teams are built around a strong coach, so examine the coach's abilities and use that to determine your team set-up. To learn about Card Leveling & Combining go here: @gls.goals/genesis-league-goals-card-leveling-and-combining

DF.jpg

Player's Tips on Team Selection

Here are tips from top players on how to select a team:

  • My strategy is focused on trying to make a Duce team work where the overall stats of my team are generally lower than the opponent, and I use 4 subs to refresh stamina and morale to get an advantage over my opponent on that front as well in the second half. Team building strategies for me always start with looking at coach abilities and trying to craft around them (like any card game with commander-type cards: @gls.goals/coach-abilities-genesis-league-goals.) For instance, if I was going to select Drew Dribbles, I'd look to make a team that is high in dribbling stats. Also just reading the game information, testing, and trying to understand the game systems on a deeper level than is visible on the surface is the next step. For instance, morale and stamina are huge factors in this game as evidenced by testing, so how do I play that into my strategy(for my Duce team using subs refreshes stamina and morale). Also different things like the importance of defense over offense. Having a good defense is drastically more important in this game I would say than having players with high offensive stats.
  • So basically I chose this coach because the midfield is where the ball starts so I wanted a strong start there. I wanted one good FW so I gave him good stats, Mango is a 50 point. Then for MF I also chose good players since my coach, I think they are both 40 points, then to have enough points for the subs, I went kinda low points on the DFs, for subs I don't have good FW bc I don't plan to change them that much but I have good MF to keep midfield control and I have decent DF to change when needed. I am prob gonna change the FW sub to another goalkeeper. My success rate is pretty low though but I don't have a lot of cards to work with. I think my plan is smart in theory but it doesn't seem to work lol.
  • I'd suggest picking a coach first and strategizing around his bonus. Maximize the gain you get from that bonus.
    The most important thing right now is health management. If you send players into a match with low health, they will "die" (not playable in this match) during the match and you are guaranteed to lose. Find out how much health your players need per game/half and use substitutions during the half to save health. There are also coaches who will make sure your players use less health.
  • You need to know all the players. Know the stats of the top players and coaches and their strengths and weaknesses. Only then will you know what to do. Sometimes it's better to pass than to dribble. Sometimes I avoid dribbling altogether, depending on the opponent's coach and players. You have to know your roster and your opponent.
  • The morale of your players is very important. High morale affects everything you do on the field. Very high morale is almost a guarantee of victory. Against weak (or low/no health) opponents, I literally farm morale.
  • GLG looks like an RNG-fest on the surface, but the deeper you dig, the more the game's enormous depth unfolds. Don't get discouraged if you lose a lot in the beginning. You should aim for a win rate of 51%. Use the practice mode as much as possible.
    Coach, coach, coach! Coaches are so important. You need to know what abilities the coaches have and which ones are currently inactive. Use your coaches wise and create a synergy between your coach and your team. You can read more about coach abilities here: @gls.goals/coach-abilities-genesis-league-goals
  • My biggest tip for team selection is if you're gonna to try to run an ability Coach and not a stamina or game state coach find role players that exploit that ability. For the most part, it's better to play into your strengths instead of trying to compensate for weaknesses. Also, try to find a consistent line to the goal. If you're frequently under 50% moving the ball forward in one area move or sub guys around until you have a +50% line to the goal on one side.
  • Select a team, play about 10-15 matches and then you can see if the team works well together. Sometimes trial and error is the best approach.
  • My strategy would be to pick cards with only 2-3 good stats related to their position. DF BL should be 9-10 and either PA or DR 9-10 to get the ball back to the front. MF Same es DF but a good SH would be appreciated FW SH and DR >= 9 the other stats are optional But till now I only play my MVPs.
  • I like to shoot from the midfield, so I selected strong midfield shooters. I have struggled to pass to my forwards and dribble to the goal, so those are my weakest players. I have strong defenders who have strong block and tackle stats. I hope they will keep the opposing forwards away from my goal. I then use one of the stamina coaches so I do not have to sub players at half, which allows me to fill my bench with weaker players. I do have 1 midfield sub that I can use should one of my midfielders morale get low in the first half. I use a strong GK with a solid pass as well. My reserves then mirror the same strategy and I use them all once the health of my starters is low. This allows me to rotate through 2-3 squads.

Screenshot 2023-12-06 at 12.53.18 PM.png

To look up other teams use https://moenke.org/gls.html "TEAMS".

Sample Teams

DZ1.png

K1.png

K2.png

KBS1.png

KBS2.png

MB1.png

O1.png

SFB1.png

SFB2.png

SLK1.png

SLK2.png

TL.png

More Team Ideas from the Beta 3 Tournament

@drzoom/genesis-league-goals-beta-cup-3

Final Thoughts!

There are many ways to be successful in this game. And each coach and team offers a different strategy that can provide wins. So, take your time, have fun, and we will see you on the pitch!

HUGE Thank You

To Moenke, TomatheLlama, Oli, Krel Backstabba, PokerMaria, Knotenbart, SorryISmurf, Khan, MegaBloop, SalomFishBee, the Genesis League Goals Team and the rest of the Alpha Players who have taught me so much about the game!

See you on the Pitch!

Dr. Zoom sm.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now