Interns #IntroduceYourself | One Strong Page | Community Newsletter #1 February 2023

One Strong Page  Community Newsletter #1 February 2023  Interns #IntroduceYourself.png

Welcome to the One Strong Page!

The home of the One Strong Foundation and the One Strong Community Program.

This first program newsletter focuses on the following:

  • sharing information on the launch of our internship program with three High School Seniors from Chicopee Comprehensive High School.
  • Provide updates on upcoming licensing information for school-age programming and other related community events.
  • educating our audience on tips on the hive blockchain to support our organization

Find out about our Non-Profit & Charitable Work

ccc logo.pngThe Chicopee Cultural Council’s mission is to advance excellence and access to the arts, humanities and interpretive sciences. Through grants to artists, Arts organizations, independent council projects, volunteerism, and community input, the Council aims to support local artists and enhance meaningful cultural experiences for the entire community. The Council strives towards good stewardship and community growth to promote wellness by contributing to our economic vitality and leveraging the power of the arts, culture and creativity for all citizens.

The One Strong Foundation and it's associated organizations want to begin by thanking the Chicopee Cultural Council for the opportunity to host students from the Chicopee Community. It means a lot to have organizations like these to bring more artistic and cultural events. We hope to bring more care, leadership, and career development opportunities for our youth and teen demographics through this relationship.

Future Articles of Organization Planning

The One Strong Foundation aims to officially become a Non-Profit Organization by finalizing the Articles of Organization necessary in Massachusetts.

This includes establishing our Mission, Board of Directors, and other rules to manage the group's structure.

One Strong Foundation finds it beneficial to gain this Non-Profit status to qualify for community and art grants that support our career readiness programming(internships, workshops, and mentoring services) and school-age enrichment programs.

Having 501c3 status also provides a tax benefit to future potential donors who wish to support our mission and charitable work to a certain amount.


One Strong Community Program Internship 2023 Thumbnail.png

Untitled design.png

One Strong Community Program Internship 2022-2023

For the next 10 Weeks, The One Strong Community Program is hosting an internship under the guidance of Charles Laboy (Executive Director of the One Strong Community Program & One Strong Foundation).

3 Chicopee Comprehensive High School students will post content to the three remaining pillars of the Community on the Hive blockchain.

Each intern is given a Hive account to post specific content for featuring on the page and receive

This blog is the first of our 10-week series. Here we will provide a short blurb from each of the gentlemen's #introduceyourself blogs. The introduce yourself blog is an excellent opportunity for creators and users on the platform to connect with the Hive community.

They will learn about the value of providing content and receiving author rewards.

In Friday's meeting, we discussed Protecting Keys, Author Rewards, and Curation Rewards. Encourage their featuring of other content to showcase their favorite creators on the platform.

Introduce Yourself: @arojasost

1.png

About Me and Who I Am

Hello, One Strong Community, My name is Austin Rojas, and I'm currently a Chicopee Comprehensive High School senior.

I was born in Holyoke, Massachusetts, and moved around Western Mass for a bit before settling in Chicopee. I maintain a few hobbies, which include sports, video games, movies, and spending time with friends and family. Growing up, I always remained active and outdoors on sunny days, and for the not-so-sunny days, I was inside exploring with computers and scrutinizing videos or movies. That's where I found my love for content creation because I used to upload youtube gaming videos. I'd record and edit videos, create thumbnail images, and commentate on the videos.

At the beginning of this year, I took a Career Internship class in the Career Center, where I could build a proper resume and learn about state job laws and tips that will most definitely last a lifetime. Next, I took on an opportunity to further my work and skills with the Career Center and Chicopee Cultural Council Internship, which eventually led me to my place here with the One Strong Community Program Internship.

My Goals For The Future and With One Strong

My plans for the future are to find a career where I'm utilizing skills similar to the ones I'm using here to help the One Strong Program and The Cultural Council. I decided to join the One Strong Community Program because my work can reach the interest of younger interns, get them intrigued about the program, simplify the future recruiting process, and increase funding. In addition, working with this program can help me enhance my skills and hopefully set me up for a more promising future.

Representing the Art & Culture Pillar for One Strong

The project I'm working on in this program is Marvel Movie Reviews. Of course, what inspires me to push forward and post reviews is a Youtube channel I follow called New Rockstars. What makes my thoughts different from the rest is that most film reviewers are adults and not in their teen years like I am. People of other age groups and generations will default to having different viewpoints. With my reviews, I hope to shine a light on a different perspective easily digestible to a new reader. Many people are interested in this topic of movies or marvel movies precisely, but not so much posting reviews on it for many reasons.


Introduce Yourself: @jtorresost

2.png

About Me and Who I Am

It's Jayden T., One Strong Community! I'm a Senior at Chicopee Comprehensive High School. I have opened up two online stores, Invested in cryptocurrencies while working part-time, and played my Senior season as a Colt on the football field. In addition, I pursued basketball for two years for comp, kept up with the Student council group after school hours, and kept busy cooking and providing service at Culinary arts during the day.

Every day I aim to perform at school for 6 hours, grind at sports, and work to build a business for myself day and night. I am representing what I've learned through trade at Chicopee Comprehensive. Culinary arts is a trade offered through our Career Technical Education Program.

My Goals For The Future and With One Strong

One Strong Community Program is young in its presence, but the potential is vital to help members of my Community. I admire what the organization is looking to do and look forward to being a part of it as a young man/leader. After our planning with the leadership, I hope to see this Community receive recognition as its representatives actively engage in the City of Chicopee.

Representing the Business & Finance Pillar

Business is a lifestyle. Building connections and learning from others is how we make this country. This internship opportunity excites me because it offers us the chance to be responsible, develop work readiness skills, and provide a service to the Community that will last beyond me. Having an opportunity to represent Chicopee positively by sharing information with others will help me gain the skills I desire and recognition/respect. From what the Executive Director explains about One Strong, I can benefit and lift the feelings of hardship plaguing myself and the Community.

All publicity is good publicity. Providing that opportunity is @onestrong.


3.png

Introduce Yourself: @jtpaganost

About Me and Who I Am

My name Is John J. Torres Pagan. I was born and raised in Puerto Rico. I am currently a resident of Chicopee and attend Chicopee Comprehensive High School as a Fourth Year Drafting Student. I'm a big family and care greatly about my community and friends. I am very passionate and always work my hardest in whatever project I do. I am also a dog lover; who doesn't love dogs, right? There’s a reason they are man’s best friend, which is why I would also like to open my dog rescue center on top of my real-estate business goal.

I get a lot of motivation from my family. Of course, my parents are my biggest inspirations, as seeing them work so hard every day pushed me to motivate myself to do better. In addition, I’ve always tried to be an excellent big brother for my sister and ensure I can assist my mom to ensure she had everything we needed.

What does John do?

I am currently employed at Dunkin Donuts and am a crew member. During the warmer weather, I operate a Freelance Landscaping business where I do handy work (painting, lawn & house care, building furniture pieces, and other needs of the client.) I'm also currently working on learning more about the stock market and how to read charts.

I plan to have enough money to go back and help the community of Puerto Rico. I have been fortunate enough to be exposed to many members of my family who owned their businesses. I want to attend college to teach others how to manage their finances and develop more understanding of managing my own business.

What will John bring to One Strong Community Program?

I am proudly taking part in this opportunity with the One Strong Community Program internship because it's an ideal opportunity to give back and receive compensation for my time. I connected with our facilitator Mr. Charles Laboy through his work in the College and Career Center at my high school. He explained the opportunity and what skills we would work on as we created our written projects.

Representing the Education and Training Pillar

I represent the Education and Training Pillar this semester. This assignment charges me with creating content that aligns with providing “Informative How-Tos” or other lessons that can benefit future members & readers of the One Strong Page. I decided to focus on and highlight some of my favorite projects in Drafting. I will inform readers weekly about what steps can look like working on architectural and CAD projects. In addition, I will provide floor plans in architectural projects to understand how a typical house plan may look. They will be basic representations of what a carpenter uses to be able to work on a build for a house, including dimensions and materials. I will also include 3D-printed pieces ranging from regular household items to toys.

I appreciate One Strong for creating this opportunity for us as students and becoming a part of something with a bright future. In future meetings, I want to help Mr. Laboy develop ideas for new benefits of participating in this program as a high school student. In addition, the exposure to connecting with City Officials, School Administrators, and Educators can help create tremendous new opportunities for the Chicopee Public School community.


One Strong Fund

Home  One Strong Fund.png

The One Strong Foundation is preparing a grant proposal for the 2023-2024 grant season to help provide a fund to buy back the scholarship tokens awarded through the One Strong Internship.

During week 2, our current roster @arojasost, @jtorresost, and @jtpaganost will be evaluating and helping to develop the year One Strong Business plan.

During the 10 Week Internship, the Executive Director will continue to discuss the idea with the students and ask how much they'd like to see the One Strong Token be repurchased.

The interns will help to build the proposals and devise uses for One Strong Token that is given as rewards for participating and interacting with the One Strong Community Program initiatives(Internships, Before and After School Programming, Event Volunteering/Vending).

OST can always be sold on the Hive-Engine platform for market buy prices. However, the Foundation wishes to manage the @onestrongfund to prepare a permanent buyback price for an internship or school-age programming member. Keep up with our weekly posts to find out more about this development.

How to interact with the post?

Our audience can interact with our posts by having a Hive account. Not only can they read One Strong Community Program or One Strong Foundation posts each week, but they can also share our newsletter and vote on the post to receive curation rewards or share their thoughts on the content in our comment section. We want to encourage a lot of new viewers and readers to become future members of our One Strong Comunity Program Initiatives, where we hope to give out more OST(One Strong Token)

Curation (Sharing or Voting)

One of the essential functions of a hive account is being able to share each other's content and upvote for support.

Hive accounts receive Curation Rewards when they use Voting Power to cast an upvote on a post.

Using a Hive account to share this post helps @onestrong to gain exposure by posting us to your audience through their feeds.

Commenting

Hive accounts are also able to create comments under others' posts. For example, you can share how you feel about the program's doings or if you have some criticisms to share. We want to hear the voices of our community and want to improve to provide great content and information for years to come.


Thanks for reading! We appreciate you supporting our organization.

As Executive Director of the Program, I am genuinely excited to continue this work with these three. Despite having a closure for the day because of the cold weather, they have impressed me with the work they've done so far this week. I still see they will challenge me for the rest of our time together. But I am thankful to have them, and I hope this work inspires them to stay around and build a lifelong relationship if they decide to return as Alumni. I think presenting their work to the cultural council will be huge when we meet them at the Grantee Reception.
I look forward to sharing more with you in the coming weeks. Thank You! - Charles Laboy @claboyost

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center