My Farm so Far

I have been away from home for a while, and that is why I have not been posting on hive some time. It’s nice to be back home, and I hope to show up more before returning to the journey life has slated for me.

The interesting thing about nature as I have always known is that it gives some blessings and takes some dues. This pattern has been well expressed on my farm. Some crops yielded bountiful fruits even where I least expected, while others didn’t do too well.

I am yet to understand why none of my maize did well. They all seem to have been struck by some lightning or disease of some sort, despite the fact that we planted them on ridges. As shown in the pictures below, nature didn’t smile on my maize at all; some even got burned even though we are in a season of excessive rain. I am yet to understand the reason for this issue, but I hope to get some answers soon.

As for the tomatoes, it seemed as if they had a meeting and decided to blow my mind. In their meeting, I imagined them saying, “As the maize didn’t do too well, let us compensate the farmer.” I was surprised at how tomatoes grew and had lots of fruits even in between the thorn flowers. By the time they get ripe, me and my neighbors will have something to feast on.

PawPaw also did well because I have lots of fruits to look forward to, and they are bigger than the last harvest. I believe this is due to spraying the tree with some anti-parasitic chemicals; for some time, I won’t need to worry about parasites, and I am confident that the fruiting will keep getting better.

The coconuts are yet to reach their plucking stage, but we also have something sweet to look forward to, especially the water, which I enjoy using to cook rice. That’s a recipe I’ll suggest you try out. I also enjoy taking coconut with cassava flakes, what we call gaari in unity with cold water. If you have not tried this union, please do.

There are several other crops on the farm, like cassava, potatoes, banana, soursop, pear, mango tree, and orange tree, among others. It is a blessing to have so much in such a limited space. Like I have always said, I see these as practical and testing grounds for bigger establishments. If these investments yield something worth it, the future will definitely feature more investments to have a bigger and better space for farming.

ALL IMAGE CREDITS ARE BY ME

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center