What is there to learn about growing onions, Planting and harvesting.

Hello Hive

It's a good day to enjoy vegetables, soup, and spices. Don't tell me it is too early for a vegetable meal, as I am sure that most of you prefer tea and bread for breakfast. I will most likely be making the meals for lunch.

Screenshot_20241014-073106.jpg

Now here is a clear sample that you can grow onions at home and harvest them for food. When I planted these, I wasn't sure that this day would come or that the onions would germinate and give us some spices, but I learned that good acts like this are worth trying.

IMG-20241014-WA0015.jpg

Now I have gained some knowledge on how to grow onions and actually do have something to harvest today.
I invite @jmis101 to come see our onions; she was expecting to see when the bulbs will get bigger.

IMG-20241014-WA0003.jpg

I believe that the onions are growing larger and bigger underneath while I have some good amount of the leafy part as spring onions 🧅🧅🍅 that I am harvesting right away. I learned that the spring onions can regenerate after we harvest them; I'm not really sure about that yet; hence, I'm also willing to try that with these onions I have planted.

I am harvesting the spring parts now to see if they will really regenerate or if the onion bulbs will be affected by that. In the mean time, I will also be planting a few more bulbs now, having made success with this.

IMG-20241014-WA0009.jpg

I actually do not know how the harvesting is done and decided to pluck off a few leaves first using my hands instead of a knife. since these were naturally grown without fertilizer I noticed that it has some thicker scents.

IMG-20241014-WA0001.jpg


IMG-20241014-WA0013.jpg

The ground here is very hard for planting. Onion bulbs require a very soft ground for planting so that when they are growing, the bulb can grow larger. On hard ground, it makes it really difficult for the bulb to get bigger. Since there is not much soil here, most of my plantings have to be done in sacs.
Whenever I want to plant anything, I fetch some good amount of soil in a sac from a distant place, get it into the house, and prepare it well for planting.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center