Some Important tips to help us maximize cost of production in commercial farming. Quantity of inorganic manure to buy and how best to apply this.

Hello Hive

Among the most beautiful things that has happened to me this year is choosing to engage in this commercial farming venture. It opened my eyes to a whole lot of findings that I never knew about agriculture/farming regardless of the many years I have been working in the farm. In my early years of life we where just children following our parents to farm. I never bothered or cared about putting any of these knowledge in my head, I just did what my parents do and whatever work they want me to do on the farm.

Screenshot_20240708-064848.jpg

Now that I am a graduate with no job hoping to see if I can make an investment headway in agriculture my eyes are opened to new found knowledge that are useful and helpful for this journey. Just like my friend has said earlier that arming ourselves with Agricultural knowledge is a good course. We can be able to grow the food we eat by ourselves, feed our families and also sell some food to our community. Hopefully something big can comw out of it in the future , maybe feed a nation?, hahaha that will be too large a vision.

Screenshot_20240708-065027.jpg


Screenshot_20240708-065017.jpg


Screenshot_20240708-064925.jpg

While we have taking out time to apply fertilizer to our corn over the weekend, having shared with us how the process went. Today I wish to share with us some of the basic tips I believe that will reduce your cost of production while trying to grow corn on commercial level.
This is important and meant for everyone who wants to starts this venture but has overy little finance
Some of the expenses you will be exposed to are listed here and some basic things you can do to cut down cost.

  • Cost of leasing farm
  • Cost of clearing shrubs
  • Ploughing and ridging cost
  • Cost of purchasing seeds and cost of planting seeds
  • Cost of wedding the farm
  • Fertilizer purchase and cost of applying fertilizer
  • Cost of harvest
  • Cost of peeling corn, bagging and storage.

We have been exposed to 6 out of the 8 categories mentioned above. Some of these cost can be managed and brought to their nearest minimum to lower production cost while other are fixed.

Screenshot_20240708-071431.jpg

Cost of fertilizer application.

For instance we bought 2bags of NPK fertilizer for about 46k naira thereabout which covered 4acres of corn farm and while going to purchase Urea last weekend we bout thesame quantity, 2bags of urea.
But for the urea we realized that only 1bag of urea is needed for the 4acre of land. We had one bag of the urea left which will either be sold out or applied to our guinea corn when they are planted.

Screenshot_20240708-065046.jpg


Screenshot_20240708-065038.jpg

Hence the cost for fertilizer application is estimated to be 2bags of NPK at 46k each for first fertilizer application and 1bagbof urea at 36k for the second application. This is a standard anyone can adopt that will work just well for their farms.

I did make a video of how to apply these manure and had wish that I have the knowledge of how to upload videos on the ecency interphase to show us this. This will be really relevant and will be brought to our screen as well.

I will like to pin this blog and add more update about the other prices as times goes or or probably make a lengthy blog that will contain all the above mentioned cost. Keep in mind that we are not yet at harvest and more cost will be coming along the line

Thanks for stopping by.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment