A Gardeners Success Story, different veggies with different harvest method.

Hello Hive

What more species of veggies can we plant in a garden? Let me gather more ideas of quality vegetables that will both be useful and beneficial. I do have tomatoes, potatoes, fluted pumpkins, bitter leaves, scent leaves, and onions.

Screenshot_20241004-090852.jpg

I actually do have some water leaves as well before a neighbor who had no idea about gardening destroyed the entire plants when she attempted to harvest the veggies.

I had earlier added some scotch bonnet but didn't pay attention to them until they withered away. Over-activities keep me away from checking on the garden sometimes.

So here I am today. Sourcing for more varieties of veggies to add to my garden.

In order to get some water leaf seeds, I had to visit a large commercial vegetable growing site to purchase some. Water leaf seeds aren't sold in the market or at the seed stores, and I wonder why this is so. Water leave plants are wild-growing veggies, and sometimes we find them in places they weren't planted; their tiny seeds can spread and germinate almost anywhere. If you are lucky, then some of these veggies will germinate on their own in your garden.

IMG-20241004-WA0036.jpg


IMG-20241004-WA0037.jpg
.

I took out a bit of time yesterday to visit the commercial vegetable growing site and purchase some water leaves, making sure to buy the ones with seed pods. They weren't as expensive as I thought, and not many people seem to eat this particular veggie. For me, it is one of my best vegetables along with fried pumpkins. The health benefits I have enjoyed from both of them make me want to constantly have them in my meals.

IMG-20241004-WA0011.jpg

Luckily for me, purchasing this means that I get to enjoy some water leaf stew, which I prepared immediately, and then now I have spread all of the seeds in my garden to germinate.

Hopefully I get to warn the neighbors regarding harvesting any veggies whenever I am not around so that they won't end up destroying nature's veggies.

It will be good to know that different veggies have different methods of harvest, and for our veggies in the garden to stay alive and healthy, we must always harvest them the proper way. And while my neighbors get to enjoy some veggies from what I plant here, I have decided to make it a duty to be the only one harvesting veggies here.

I can give out veggies for free only when I'm around to pluck for neighbors. I totally went through some stress to get these water leaves and would wish to have as much of it established here. Permitting just anyone to harvest veggies by themselves may end up ruining my gardening plans.

IMG-20241004-WA0036.jpg

We can see how these gardeners and veggies growers are actively harvesting their veggies and preparing them for sale at the market.

Hoping to germinate new sets of water leaves, get as much of it established here, and then more species of veggies as I can find.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center