A good backup plan for sustainable agriculture.

Hello, dear homesteaders,

The weekend is here again, and I'm amazed at how quickly this week has passed. Nevertheless, I'm glad it's ending, and a new month is approaching. For paid workers, you know what that means, especially in these challenging times. Although not everyone is experiencing hardship, it's essential to have a backup plan for survival.

In light of this, I've decided to venture into agriculture, which I find lucrative and supportive, especially during this trying time. When I first considered this plan, I wondered how I would balance it with my academic journey. However, I've learned to multitask when necessary.

In the village, I acquired a piece of land with my grandmother's oversight. After verifying the land ownership, I purchased the land, paid for clearing, and then cleared the remaining debris myself. Next, I hired workers to help with tilling and compensated them after completing the task.

I planted cucumber, melon, and cassava on the land, partitioning it for mixed cropping. The outcome from the cucumbers was remarkable, yielding substantial sales. While I needed to feed my family, I also aimed to recoup my investments from land purchase to harvesting.

One challenge I faced was a pest attack on my cucumbers. Thankfully, my grandmother alerted me, and I swiftly procured a solution.

Today, I harvested my cassava, which had been my biggest expectation. Although the growing and weeding process worried me, I rendered weeding services twice and thankfully reaped an abundant and appreciable harvest.

As a farmer, it's essential to share the fruits of your labor. I didn't sell everything; instead, I reserved some for my family to enjoy. I processed some cassava into garri and gave my grandmother a portion. She also made her own batch of fufu.

The cultivation of these crops has been, is, and will always be a supportive and appreciative backup during challenging times. In agriculture, one cannot regret it when done correctly and at the right time. This venture has helped me cut down on expenses, such as buying fried garri. My next plan is to introduce vegetables like pumpkin seeds and others.

Thanks for stopping by my blog see you in my next.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center