Gathering Firewood for the Homestead Kitchen

IMG_20240905_095332_793.jpg

It was a good day to harvest cassava in the village, everyone was going to their individual casava farms to harvest it.
My aunt who I had already convinced that I'm going to the farm with her was already ready when I arrived at her house, but she told me that first she needed to go collect some firewoods that they've almost run out of it, and that's the only thing they cook with.

Since we at home also need firewoods to make our meals I decided to go with her to collect woods too for us, my little sister also insisted to go with us and my aunt's daughter.
I thought she was trying to discourage me when she said the place was far, but I confirmed it was far as it took us over an hour to walk past the hilly roads and get to the forest.

IMG_20240905_092231_341.jpg

While we got the finally, we was a bit tired but my aunt quickly got to work, The chore was made easier with the help of her trusty matchet. Soon I was assisting her to gather the woods she already cut.

IMG_20240905_093436_997.jpgIMG_20240905_093211_690.jpg

IMG_20240905_092219_798.jpg

We focused on harvesting dead or fallen trees, leaving the living ones to thrive. The smell of freshly cut wood and the sound of birds singing made for a lovely afternoon.

My cousin who was with us does a very impressive work in tying the woods so it is easier to carry. So after gathering and arranging it for each person, she was tying them with the ropes we came with.

IMG_20240905_094707_503.jpg

We also made sure to carry some clothes to fold so we can place on our head before carrying the woods. This helps to distribute the weight evenly and reduce pressure on the head and neck when we do carry the woods. I was sure to carry what I can so that it doesn't give me issues.

We were helped to get the woods on our heads and to journey back home. Now returning home was even more difficult because we had a load on our heads.

IMG_20240905_095343_354.jpgIMG_20240905_095805_571.jpg

It's been a very long while I had something heavy carried on my head so it was a bit disturbing as the road to the house was still far so I felt like dropping them midway and taking a little rest.
Well that's what we eventually did at some point

IMG_20240905_105611_657.jpgIMG_20240905_101539_848.jpg

Soon we were well rested and ready to continue, so we kept moving and determined to get home.

IMG_20240905_110226_994~2.jpg

IMG_20240905_110422_304.jpg

Now, our woodshed is stocked and ready for use. At the city this amount of woods is sold very costly, so we're glad to get it freely here.

There's nothing like the warmth and comfort of a wood-fired meal to bring the family together.
There's something special about cooking over an open flame, and I love the sustainability of using natural resources.

IMG_20240824_160654_382.jpg

One of the most striking differences between village life and city living is how meals are prepared. In the city, we're used to modern conveniences like gas or electric stoves, which make cooking quick and easy. However, there’s something special about using firewood in the village, Though we also have gas in the village, but we also use the woods.

Cooking with firewood offers a sense of connection to nature and tradition. The flavor of meals prepared over an open flame often carries a distinct, smoky richness that’s hard to replicate in modern kitchens. Not to mention, it's a sustainable resource when harvested responsibly—fallen branches and deadwood can be gathered without cutting down live trees, preserving the environment.

In contrast, in urban areas, firewood is often seen as a costly commodity. The same amount of wood we gathered here for free would fetch a significant price in the city, making it less accessible for everyday use.

Tips for Gathering and Storing Firewood

Over time, I’ve learned a few helpful tips for gathering and storing firewood:

  1. Focus on Deadwood: Always prioritize gathering fallen branches or dead trees, which burn more efficiently and are better for the environment.

  2. Split Your Wood: Splitting woods allows it to dry faster, and dry woods burn very neatly.

  3. Proper Storage: Ensure your firewood is stored in a dry, covered place to prevent it from rotting. Stacking the wood with spaces in between also allows for airflow, which helps it dry faster.

🌺🌼🌺🌼🌺🌼🌺🌼🌺🌼🌺🌼🌺

Thanks so much for this space that allows me to share my experience.
Life should be as simple as anything, and it is meant to be enjoyed. Simplicity helps us to achieve at least a measure of that everyday.

See you all next time 🤗

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now