A return to the exploration of the back of my property, supervised by my cat

Aerial view of plot.jpg
Just as a reminder, more than half of my property at the back is woods, WHICH at first glance might appear to be totally undeveloped.
However, there are some intriguing THINGS back there, (plus the history of the Area, I believe the Confederate Troops had a hospital, really somebody's house they commandeered, about a mile away, so they were most likely camped all round this area near the end 1864)
Last autumn I went back exploring in the rain, and found a few things,
image.png
That mound of stuff I think is a lot older than the trash and stuff that is obviously newer
image.png
so yesterday me and Tommy went back to have another looksee.
Here he is stretching, getting prepared for the adventure
image.png
DSC_0008.JPG
I used a piece of iron rod I found to help me leverage that pyramid up so I could see it more clearly, but without something to date or explain, I still don't know what it is.

DSC_0007.JPG
First thought is obviously a boundary marker, but it is near the edge of my LOT, but it looks older than the division of this part of Unincorporated Mableton being divided into individual lots

image.png

image.png
(The above is a much older version of the individual lots, in this one I believe I am lot 24)

image.png

So back to the pyramid, the two iron stobs on the top?
If they were connected, I could see that being something to pick it up by, but as is, I just don't know.

image.png
(I just canNOT seem to get this camera to focus properly these days, or maybe it is my eyes.)
So there is one of two piles of debris that contain obviously new-ish stuff and older things as well, and all around the area there are plastic bottles (empty) for motor oil, transmission oil, chain oil etc etc...

20220610_103641.jpg

so at some point this whole area must have been bulldozed, long enough in the past for everything to have grown back up.

image.png
Now THESE limbs are clearly not that old, and could not have ended up this way unaided.

image.png

And the mystery deepens, sending the cat up a tree.

20220610_110144.jpg
Tommy is not happy, and thinks that this is all a pile of 💩

20220527_072546.jpg

"More explorations"

by
Jerry and Tommy Smith
©06/11/2022
All images were taken with either my
Nikon D5600 or my Samsung S22 ultra
Cellphone





cyktlq.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center