Cassava harvest in my aunt's farm land

Hello wonderful people of Hive, it's a beautiful day today hope you're all doing great.
This morning I visited my aunt because It's been quite long I've not seen her so I say let me visit today. When reach her place she was not in the house, I the neighbors told me that she was the farm, So I went to the farm, the farm was just at the back of her house. As reach the farm, I saw her in the farm and asked if she is weeding and she answered me no that she is harvesting cassava and she asked for my help that was how I joined to help.

Cassava is one of the most planting crops in Nigeria as the product is the most common food for a common man in Nigeria or will I say in the hole Africa. But recently due to the current state of Nigeria both the rich and the poor are cultivating cassava, there's no farmer in Nigeria that will say he or she doesn't have cassava in his or her farm.

According to my aunt, this specie of cassava is to harvested after 6 months of planting because the normal time to harvest cassava is after 1 year of planting. She said that if after the 6 months and it was not harvested that it will start decaying and it will be a waste of time and money as the cassava stem was bought.

TOOLS WE USED TO HARVEST THE CASSAVA

• Cutlass
• Big bowl

We didn't need to mush things for the harvest because the ground is still very soft that I was uprooting the cassava with my hand I was only using the cutlass to dig out the ones that broke inside the ground, had it been the ground was strong, we would've added a digger for the harvest.

The cutlass was been used to clear grasses and cut the cassava stem so that I can be able to hold it and pull it out from the ground.
while the big bowl was used to gather the uprooted ones and take to a shaded place where it will be pilled. In the process of harvesting the cassava I killed 2 little snake in that farm.

It is very important to have food in the house especially food like cassava produce.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments