Sunrise - August 6, 2022 @goldenoakfarm

Big garden - sunrise1 crop August 2022.jpg

Saturday was to be a very hot day, so I was out early to pick beans. The sun was just rising over the trees into the Big garden.

Big garden - sunrise2 crop August 2022.jpg

Big garden - lima beans crop August 2022.jpg

Lima beans in the sunrise

Sunrise crop August 2022.jpg

Front pasture with Little tree shadows

Wildflowers in drought crop August 2022.jpg

Wildflower area in the drought

Rain guage empty crop August 2022.jpg

The rain gauge has been empty far too long. No thunderstorms on Saturday....

South - weedy mess crop August 2022.jpg

It’s probably just as well the flowerbeds haven’t been weeded. They aren’t mulched and in the drought, the soil would have been severely impacted if they’d been weeded. But as it is, this South garden is a weedy mess.

Fence gardens all weedy crop August 2022.jpg

As are the Fence gardens; between the heat and only being able to manage around 4 hours of work outside a day, the flowerbeds haven’t been touched since May.

Hibiscus - full flower crop August 2022.jpg

These 3 shrubs are the only ones mulched because there’s a fence behind them to keep the mulch in place. The hibiscus is really spectacular this year, even in the drought.

Little black-eyed susan crop August 2022.jpg

I found this little black-eyed Susan in the lawn. I’ve only been mowing once every 2 weeks due to the drought, so it’s managed to grow and flower in the week since I last mowed.

West Herb - tansy flowers crop August 2022.jpg

Tansy flowers in the West Herb garden

New West - verbascum crop August 2022.jpg

Verbascum in the New West garden

New South - hollyhocks in sunrise crop August 2022.jpg

The “black” hollyhock in the sunrise

Little trees - 11. York elderberries1 crop August 2022.jpg

I went down to check the elderberries and the birds have had a field day. I’m hoping when it cools down towards the end of the week, I can tackle this job of harvesting them.

Little trees - 11. York elderberries2 crop August 2022.jpg

There are still plenty of green berries to ripen.

Little trees - new chuck hole under elderberry crop August 2022.jpg

While I was there, I checked to see if the chuck hole was still un-occupied. The chuck had dug a new hole on the other side of the bush. I put more rotten cat food down it. I didn’t have a lot, so I didn’t fill it in. Once I’ve put more down, then I will fill it.

They keep saying we’ll have thunderstorms during this awful heat, but they keep going around us. I am going to have to start watering the flowerbeds, if I don’t want to lose the plants.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center