Last of the Beans - August 14, 2022 @goldenoakfarm

Early morning view crop August 2022.jpg

On Sunday morning it was cold inside, mid 50’sF, so I wasn’t in a hurry to get done so much. I got laundry started, my post written and breakfast eaten and headed outside.

Artichokes and beans crop August 2022.jpg

Once the barn chores were done, I picked the last of the green beans. About half of them are too old, and I cut the artichokes that were ready.

View in the distance crop August 2022.jpg

Then I got the hoses picked up and moved the chairs and the lawn was ready to mow. It was 9:15AM.

West side yard crop August 2022.jpg

Some parts of the yard, like this west side, didn’t have much more than weeds to mow. Others, like behind the woodshed addition, had grass so tall and lush it plugged the mower. But mostly, due to the drought, there wasn’t a lot to mow. I still try to keep the grass short due to ticks by mowing every 2 weeks.

New Herb - another walkway done crop August 2022.jpg

Even though I’d had a decent night, I was wiped out when I finished around noon. I was on the couch all afternoon, just rousing myself to make salmon and the artichokes for supper.

The beans ended up on the cold floor of the pantry. My son got another walkway mulched and a load of dishes in the dishwasher.

Dehydrated Walla onions crop August 2022.jpg

On Monday my backup helper is coming and I have to move mulch hay out of a nearby stable. There’s not a lot and it will be cool to work in. Then I have to process the beans and I will have her cut more Wallas for the dehydrator. I got this much from the 6.5 trays on Sunday.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center