This Year: Grandpa's Beans plant experience Irrigation and Rainfall

Hello Friends @HomesteadingCommunity. Welcome to my Blog. Trust you are doing good? My paternal Grandpa is diabetic. Health wise, he was advised not to consume any starchy food and do more of protein and whole grains. Beans is one of grandpa's favorite food. Due to the hike in food prices this year, my dad didn't find it easy, always purchasing grandpa's food. So my dad thought it best, to use a little portion of our garden to plant beans basically for grandpa.

The part of Nigeria where I reside, kaduna to be precise, experience delay in rainfall this year. Even though, the rain started in April but it barely fall. It is a known fact that a well drained soil will help the beans plant to grow effectively.

Beans planting, is fine with irrigation system. So, we proceeded by planting the beans in June since it is known to be one of the best time to plant beans in Nigeria.

The beans plant sprouting Up

We took it upon ourselves to irrigate the beans plant. Thank goodness, we have constant water supply in my compound. So I decided to irrigate the beans plant myself on a daily basis. Beans plant, needs adequate water and a fertile soil to survive.

I continued with the irrigation system and fortunately at mid august, the rain began to fall heavily and almost every day and sometimes all day. Farmers generally was so delighted because our plants will grow up real faster. We didn't apply fertilizer on our beans plant, since it is growing rapidly with the help of the rain.

We are optimistic that we shall yeild good harvest few months from now

Thanks for visiting my blog 🙏❤️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments