Mixedcropping: The challenges I faced with my okro plant

Hello Hivers, Welcome to my blog. I went into Mixed Cropping within this raining season as a result of the hike in food stuffs. Sweet potatoes seems to be one of my favorites tubers, Especially when fried. Two months ago, I got sweet potato stems from a co-farmer who does sweet potatoes farming strictly. He gave me some stems for free and I planted

Few days later, I visited one of my neighbors garden and saw how well her okro plant is growing.

She used another portion of her land and planted sweet potatoes and corn, which is growing rapidly.

I got Inspired by what I saw on my neighbor's garden and decided to do mixed crop farming by adding up corn and okro seeds to the sweet potatoes farm since I wasn't having enough space to plant them separately.
Few weeks later, I noticed the okro leaves are growing and drying up... Initially, I thought it was the weeds around my crops that is affecting it

I took my time and clear up the weeds, and I noticed the corn and sweet potatoes are growing faster but the okro leaves was rather getting dry.

I was so concerned and went to my neighbor whose crops got be inspired and complain to her, she ask if I carry out a soil test before planting the okro amidst other crops. I said No. She told me it's important to carry out a soil test, because it will show how fertile the soil is, and also show the pH, nutrients of the soil. So most likely, the soil is not fertile enough to grow the okro effectively

She advised me not to apply any chemical and let's leave the rain to fertilize the soil. After much rainfall lately, I visited my farm two days back and I noticed improvement on my crops. I'm been hopeful to get bountiful harvest🤸

I thought it best to share my experience with you... I hope it helps😊

Thanks for visiting my Blog🙏❤️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments