Harvest made from my Tomato plants

Hello Hivers... Welcome to my Blog🤝.
The cost of tomato in Nigeria this year was extremely high. In may and June. Nigerians complain bitterly about the hike in prices for tomatoes. Tomatoes is a vegetable that makes up most meal. Especially stew, jollof rice, vegetable sauce e.t.c
In my family we prioritize tomatoes so well

Yearly my family and I usually farm tomatoes. This has been a practice for over 3 years. We usually cultivate tomatoes in dry season, the month of February to be precise. Generally in Nigeria, February is one of the best month to grow tomato. Very few farmers cultivate tomatoes in January so there will be no risk of glut.

When we plant tomato in february, we mostly harvest in late May or early July. This is because the best time to harvest tomato is between sixty to hundred days after transplanting the seedlings.

My mum would always prefer we apply animal dung (manure) to industrialized fertilizer because it works best. Manures from birds, sheep, horse, goat, cow, gives better results.
Ripe tomatoes

Unripe Tomatoes

All images are mine

Thanks for visiting my Blog 🙏 ❤️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments