Grandma: Planted Snake Tomato On Her Garden ☘️

Hello Hivers... Welcome to my Blog, Happy weekend. I'm delighted to introduce something new to us. Which is not so common in Nigeria where I came from. It is called snake tomatoes also known as Trichosanthes cucumerina Linn. It is generally believed to have been domesticated in India from the wild species.

I saw snake tomato seeds in a tray under the sun in grandma's compound and I was wondering what the seed is meant for. Few months ago, I saw grandma planting this same seeds, in her garden I stood closely to see the process. When I asked her what the seed was meant for, she told me is snake tomato seeds, I was wondering, and I threw questions, to know what it's all about and she said, snake tomatoes is a fruit, which is mainly consumed as a vegetable. I taught it was the type of tomato I was familiar with, not knowing she's referring to a different specie of tomato.

Snake tomato seeds

Here is the hoe grandma used to dug a hole on the ground

Grandma put two snake tomato seeds in the hole she dug

.

Then she covered the seed using sand

Here is the snake tomato plant growing and she supported it by tieing a long rope on the tomato stem to the fence wire

Snake tomato flowers began to spring up

I was so amazed when I saw this shape... Grandma told me, that's the early stage of the snake tomato

I visited grandma's garden yesterday, and I realized the snake tomato are all grown. Grandma assured me that few weeks from now, the tomato will get rape, and ready for consumption. I really can't wait to see the final outcome.


I thought it best to share my experience thus far about the snake tomato with us all my friends on Hive. Few weeks from now, I will come back to share the harvest grandma made from her garden... Until then, stay connected

Thanks for visiting my Blog🙏❤️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments