Bozzlife: #whoareyoulisteningto? 4th of July edition!

IMG_20200619_104135.jpg


My listening this week was dedicated almost exclusively to female artists. That's about all I have to say before I start diving right into the Youtube clips for you...


Andra Day

Even if you have never heard of Andra Day, you have most certainly heard the song "Rise Up". It has been taken and used by any variety of charitable organizations and human rights groups. Especially during these crazy Covid times as well as the recent civil unrest.

If "Rise Up" is the breadth of your Andra Day knowledge, I encourage you to dig deeper into her stuff. Post Haste! She is absolutely fantastic in my opinion with hints of Amy Winehouse and other great singers before her time.

My only issue with Andra Day is the fact that she only has one solo album that was released in 2015. I am going to have to do some research online to see if she is working on anything new.


Kacey Musgraves

Kacey Musgraves has been around for quite some time. In fact her earliest album that I can remember was released in 2013. If I remember correctly, it gained a little traction with the song "Merry Go 'Round", but it is only recently that she has gained critical acclaim.

In fact she was a run away winner at one of the music awards recently. Her album Golden Hour won record of the year. I have heard several of the songs on the album, but I have never given the whole thing a proper listen through.

I decided to change that this week. It's a great album with a ton of haunting songs like the one above. If you are in the mood for some great song writing and a singer with a great voice, you should give the album a listen. She has some really cool turns of phrase throughout.


Kasey Chambers

Continuing the whole "Kasey" theme, I can remember the first time I ever heard Kasey Chambers. I was in my bedroom at my parents house in what would have been the late nineties or early 2000's. I was listening to some show on public radio and they were talking to Kasey Chambers have having her play some of her songs.

I was immediately captivated by her voice and the strange tone that she had. I went online (was online shopping a thing yet?), okay somehow I got my hands on her first album and I listened to that CD over and over.

Having not listened to her in forever I decided to revisit Kasey Chambers this week. I can honestly say I am not as much a fan of her newer stuff, but the stuff she put out in her first five years or so is absolutely amazing.

I highly recommend you check some of that stuff out if you really dig the whole female singer/songwriter vibe.


There you go, these are some highlights from the stuff that I have been listening to this week. With the world going to hell in a hand-basket and the news being nothing but negativity lately, I think it is important to focus on the positive things that are entering my ears.

Please, feel free to leave a comment and let me know who you are listening to this week. Better yet, write your own post and use the #whoareyoulisteningto tag!


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports


TEAMUSAhive_footer_bozz.jpg

Earn free crypto income with Mannabase


@eos.detroit BOID Team Leader

Join our Discord here

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now