Hive Creative Contest | Just a Kid - Childhood memories

Happy Father's Day!

antoniarhuiz.jpg

Talking about my childhood is the most beautiful thing I can do. Part of my childhood was spent in two parts; on vacation with my maternal grandmother, she was my sunshine, and my family home, was the other place. But my vacation was long awaited; my grandmother would come to pick me up or my father would take me on a visit that the whole family made to the town where she lived.

20200621_133817.jpg
This is an old photo from my album with part of my family. On the left is my grandmother and on the extreme right is my mom with her order number 7. I, the one dressed in purple.

Why did I like being with my grandmother so much? Well, because I enjoyed nature, it's that simple. She had a field with her own harvest, and I was fascinated to go and pick the produce. Besides, we used to look for water in a cistern near the house but the only thing I didn't like was that to get there, you had to pass in front of the cemetery and that scared me a lot. In that cistern I used to bathe, there was a lot of water and it was a bit salty.

At night, we would go out to watch TV near a neighbour or someone would always come to visit my grandmother and they would tell stories of apparitions that I liked to hear but that I would later die of terror. To sleep, we slept in hammocks, in her house she didn't have a bed, then in time she had one but I never left my hammock.

There I played with my cousins, I remember that one day my grandmother made me a doll with the wax of a beehive and one of my cousins made her some beautiful dresses; we improvised pots and kitchens to play. The yard was huge. Everything for me.

As I grew up, the interests changed and I stopped staying at my grandmother's house. When my mother passed away we didn't go anymore until the day my grandmother went to heaven. In that village I was a quiet child.

text15.png

The other side of the coin.

When we moved out of town I was 9 years old, my father would drop us off at school before going to his job. There were four of us left in the school; the oldest, two younger and I who am the second of the brothers but since then I can say that I am the oldest because I defend my younger brothers with my sword and my cape, I never allowed them to be hurt. I didn't care if I had to hit myself with someone. That's how I grew up with my family, always the same.

As a child, when we were still living in the other city, one day I stoned my paternal grandmother's house because I was scolded, I don't remember why. I defended myself against anyone, even with my teeth if necessary.

Today I'm calmer, but don't think that sometimes I don't feel like grabbing people by the neck in the face of an injustice. I come from a quiet family and they say I have the impetus of my maternal grandmother, who was an indian from the village of Caigua.

20200621_142355.jpg

Happy father's day wherever you are. You're still alive in my heart.

I think it's too late to participate in this challenge but I'll leave you the link because I think it's a good subject to write about. Thank you @zord189.

text15.png

I took the images with a Samsung J7 camera. They're from my family album.
I used Deepl translator.

regalo de kadoshmenorah.png
Creado por @kadoshmenorah para @antoniarhuiz


created/hive-161809

image.png
created/hive-152200


Firma creada por @zord189 para @antoniarhuiz.

image.png
created/hive-114105

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now