FTL isn't just for space travel

Each year the global labyrinth community will gather where ever we are to celebrate World Labyrinth Day on the first Saturday of May, and we wanted to introduce this community here at HIVE at that time, and then decided against it for a myriad of reasons.
The good news is that we have a year to share labyrinth stories, pictures and get this community "up to speed" about the wonder and history of labyrinths.
There's a silly little game that I play from time to time called "Lily's Garden" on my phone, and I was shocked recently to find that they implemented a labyrinth into the game! I took a couple of screen shots:

lg 2.jpg

I was so delighted that I sent the screen shots to a few labyrinth loving friends, and if I could get a kick back on the whole deal, that would be sweet, but I don't. So this isn't a push for folks to run out and start playing, but, it did give me an idea for a future contest!
Find labyrinths in the strangest places, and post pictures!
It's actually NOT an original idea, but it can be for us, right?

lg 1.jpg

In the meantime, I did want to share a link to the Global Healing Response plan for this Saturday, June 4, 2022. This is in response to the tragic, and senseless school shooting in Uvalde, Texas, USA.

The GHR is an international effort through which countless labyrinths will be made available worldwide for people to walk, with a unified intention to bring peace and coherence to the world.

The author of the article on the link I have shared, Ellen Meuch, is a member of the Labyrinth Society and one of the main contributors to World Labyrinth Day. I have had the opportunity to work closely with her for a few years now. She said:

I would encourage us to walk the labyrinth, and to invite others to walk, with a three-fold intent.
First, for the victims, survivors, families, and community of these shootings.
Second, for the collective grief, anger, fear, and frustration we all are feeling (including the children’s fear of going to school).
And finally, walking with the question “What can I do to make a difference right now, and in the future, to create change that will contribute to ending this senseless violence.”

Labyrinths have been used as tools for meditation for centuries, and while we're not entirely certain what their original purpose or intention is, I do know from personal experience that walking a labyrinth does manage to calm and de-stress the worst (and best) of us who tend to be a bit off the charts when in *FTL mode.

I've been diagnosed with ADHD, and I can attest to the truth of "Solvitur Ambulando". Especially in my own labyrinth.
Here's hoping that I "see you on the path."

  • FTL = Faster Than Light

labyrinths sig.gif

LL HIVE SIG.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now