Our orchids

I will say first of all that I am not really into houseplants, but they can be nice to have around. I have a long history of killing them off. It seems to be a popular thing to give people orchids as gifts and my other half has been given quite a few. She is even less interested in caring for them than I am, but I have done quite well. I found the orchid community via @bdmillergallery.

My mum does love her plants, including orchids. She told me to just let them stand in some water every week or so. I also have some spray feed I use on them. Some of these are several years old and have flowered multiple times. I have no idea what they are called, but maybe someone will know.

I think they are fascinating with their complex flowers and that they survive pretty much on air and water.

This one is pretty much pure white.

White

These are two plants. The rear one just has a single flower out with a couple more coming. With the first one they are in an old wooden plant stand we inherited.

Pinks

These have some pink mottling on the outer petals.

Mottled

This one is a little more gharish. On the right is one that has yet to flower. I cannot remember what the flowers are like.

Spots

I guess we are lucky to have been given a range of varieties. They brighten up the house. We have fairly plain decoration otherwise.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
25 Comments
Ecency