Surprise catch in the cast net! Flathead catfish.

The weather is cooler in the southeastern United States, but there are still some good days for fishing. The bite has dropped off, but crappie are still around. I was throwing my cast net for bait fish and practice when I felt the line tug super hard. I figured it was a soft-shell turtle, but instead...

IMG_20210314_142304_01.jpg
... I pulled up a fat winter catfish. I was very excited because typically we only catch channel catfish and blue catfish in this lake. Not all states allow using a cast net in freshwater, but mine does for certain types of fish.

IMG_20210314_142857383.jpg
Most of the time, I fish for catfish with a spinner. But our lake has plenty and I have caught them on pool noodles (jug fishing), bush hooks and cane poles. In fact, there's no limit on size or type of catfish. However, we only keep enough for a meal or two and let the rest go.
The catfish gets it's name from the fact that it's head is flat and broad.

IMG_20210314_142917747.jpg
Contrary to common myth, catfish are not scavenger feeders. Most eat live prey like other fish, snails, frogs and insects. This one was a nice one...
IMG_20210314_142747934.jpg
... but it is not any kind of record fish. Flatheads can be four or five times the size of this one. Take a kid fishing!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center