Buyer’s Remorse: Spending at a Mall

Hive Naija Prompt

Pexels

Buyer's Remorse is a feeling of regret experienced after making a purchase, typically one regarded as unnecessary or extravagant. So many times, I have bought things I don’t need, although this has drastically reduced as I grow older. Yet I can’t find a way to totally eliminate the craving to make some unnecessary purchases. I won’t paint a perfect picture of this because I know I am guilty, but not as much as when I was younger. From buying things I don’t need to purchasing things my girlfriend never requested and things my family never asked me to do, I can go on listing the poor financial decisions I have made! It took some self-discipline and some guidance from my mentors to bring my poor buying habits to the barest minimum.

In was in 300level, during my undergraduate days when i had a funny experience. Although things weren’t all that easy, but once in a while some extra cash flows in from some distant uncles and aunts. I had my apartment outside the school compound, so I had access to life outside school compared to students staying in the hostel. We had just concluded our first semester exams, and I had paid for all the major handouts. I knew I was going to be traveling home soon. All I had to reserve was enough money to get me home. So, after reserving my transport for traveling, some extra cash for the remaining days I’ll spend before traveling, I still had about #15,000 left, which as of then was some good money!

There was a new shopping mall in town with all the discounts and an attractive price list. These guys brought their marketing team to my school, and they came with fliers and all the sweet words. What caught my attention were their chicken and ice cream. Although I’ve had these a number of times, I however developed a craving for the sweet combo. Since I discovered I had about #15,000 in my account, I’ve had the “big boy” feeling; the only thing I didn’t dare check out was a car! I felt like I was at the top of the world!

On the weekend the marketing guys visited my schools, I decided to check out this new store they so much talked about. I had friends and a few ladies around me, but I was lucky not to have any demanding ones at that moment. I even remember one of my friends then giving me her card to withdraw some money—yeah, I was that lucky! Away from the digression, I got to the mall, and I discovered I may need to purchase more than a roasted chicken to fill my ‘appetite’ as the size on paper is different from what was in front of me. Aside from this revelation, I found out that there is more at the mall. Big bread with enticing aroma and shapes, assorted biscuits, fresh fruits, ‘affordable’ wine, and so on! These and other items made the list of things I bought.

Pexels

Due to discounts, I had a balance of #2,910 from the #15,000 after paying for all I had purchased! The cool air conditioning and the whole nice environment within the mall really got my attention off how much I had just spent. As I stepped out of the mall and got to the main entrance, my mind went to the balance I had collected. Although I confirmed the price before stepping out, but it was as if I did it unconsciously as reality came knocking!

Like someone who parked his car but later discovered it was stolen, I started calculating and calculating on my way home to check if the cashier did me dirty. When I got home and finally checked everything I bought and compared it with the receipt, I knew I got carried away and bought more than I planned. I only wanted ice cream and roasted chicken; how could I? I regretted spending that much, as I cannot brag about having money anymore. The shocking thing was that, after this experience, I repeated my mistake several other times!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency