A Memorable Christmas Party 🥳

HIVE NAIJA PROMPT

Unsplash

I know I have talked about several experiences. Recently, I shared my plan for how I would love to spend Christmas, and things are gradually rolling out as planned. One of the beautiful things about Christmas is how the love is shared, meeting people you’ve seen in a long time, and other exciting experiences that make the festive period an unforgettable experience.

I won’t lie, I really loved my undergraduate days because I had a lot of people who saw me as that young guy, not like now, where everyone is looking up to me. Not that I am complaining; I am just comparing then vs. now. There was an overnight get-together we had during my undergraduate days, and I can never forget that night!

“Some people among us won’t be going home for Christmas, especially those having extra lectures, tests, or exams around this time of year. Kindly drop your name with Damilola. We will be having a get-together at our patron’s house,” were the words of my fellowship coordinator back then. Dayo made the statement as if he had earlier rehearsed it.

I was shocked because, as my close friend, I thought he would at least inform me before breaking the news to everyone. He looked at me and gave me the look, which I interpreted as “I just wanted to surprise you.” I also replied non-verbally, with what I can coin as “don’t worry, we will soon finish the fellowship; I’ll knock your head on our way home.” We both smiled, knowing we both understood the comic codes.

A total of about 15 people were at the overnight Christmas party under the guidance of our patron, Mrs. Grace, who was over sixty at the time. I have never experienced anything like it. We kicked off with a short prayer. After we had our cups all served, all served with drinks, we were told to share our experiences. I couldn’t believe my ears at the many things I heard that day.

There was a lady in the gathering who shared her experience about how she was raped by her dad, who, as of then, was late. I didn’t cry, but I was close to it. It was an emotional time at the beginning, but at the end of the whole session, we all felt purged due to the mature and well-constructed responses delivered by Mrs. Grace. Even though she is a widow, she was able to manage the whole session wonderfully well.

Unsplash

We moved on to pairing ourselves; a guy and a lady will meet and know each other. Of course, some people acted indifferent, but I caught my sub, not my girlfriend but a close friend, because I scored 4 nil at the university (ask me in the comment section if you don’t get that 4 nil thing). Then we went to music and dance.

I was so embarrassed because, as of then, I was a bad dancer. I don’t know if I am currently good at dancing, but I know I have improved. My dance mate, Tayo, was way better, so that covered a whole lot of stuff up. We later ate, and we all went to our respective lodges. Guys to their room and ladies to theirs. We guys stayed up all night playing Play Station games and throwing jokes at each other!

One thing I remember about that night was the great bonds we created. Sharing all those burdens, feeling safe, and also getting the right responses from our patron was so on point! I think I have had the privilege of partaking in several similar gatherings, but I can’t just get that feeling the one I narrated gave me!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency