A skill I was born with

As a human, we all have that particular thing we know how to do very well. Sometimes we learn these things and there are some we just know how to do naturally.

Right from when I was little I have loved to plait my siblings' hair, and I always do it perfectly to the extent that some people in the area thought that I have learned how to plait hair before. When I first moved to Lagos, I stayed with my aunty and there was a hairdresser outside their gate.

She doesn't have an apprentice, and my sister suggested that I should stay in her shop when she is not at home so that I could grab some ideas on how to make hair but I refused because I don't like standing for long and learning hairdresser wasn't in my plan. On a particular day, one lady came to braid from that hairdresser very early in the morning. She was very fast about it but she had to prepare her children for school as well and I was just sitting outside looking at her running up and down in the compound.

So I felt pity for her, and then I told her that I wanted to help her. At first, she was surprised because she knew I just came to Lagos so she asked if I could plait hair and I told her I could try. She gave me the cutting comb and then told the Lady that I was her apprentice but I traveled and now I am back, she believed us.


Source


I did my magic on the girl by plaiting her hair while the woman was preparing her 3 kids for school, by that time she was done inside and came back to the shop to see what I was doing, I was almost done with the girl's hair. I was just finishing up the hands, the woman was shocked but she thought that I must have learned it somewhere before coming to Lagos.

We both trimmed the hair and after the lady left she asked me where I learned the work and I told her I just know how to do it. She didn't believe me until she gave me another hair to weave which was didi. I couldn't do that because I had no idea how they were doing it, but braid I could do that before I learned hairdresser work.

Then the woman believes that there are people who just know things without learning them because ever since then she always calls me to help her with braids since I am good at it.

My sister was surprised the day I braided hair for her, to me everyone has that particular thing they know without learning because I have seen a boy repairing a radio without learning electrician meanwhile, some people that learned the work couldn't repair that same radio.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency