Weddings: Drama or love?

Looking back at how I spent my three weeks holiday which is about to end, I realized that all my outdoor activities for the past three weeks revolved round a walk to the church, back home. Then probably I'm going out to get something or it's a walk from the beginning of my street to the end and back to the comfort of my home. I didn't take a step out for fun or enjoyment. Am I really a youth like this or a 70years old woman in the body of an eighteen years old girl?

Pondering on this yesterday, I remembered my mom telling me about an uncle of mine who will be wedding today (Saturday). I hadn't really planned on going but come yesterday, I decided to attend since I haven't gone anywhere for a while and since I didn't have anything scheduled for today, it was convenient for me. I decided to make it a day for socialization.

It has been a while since I attended a wedding. Recalling, I think the last wedding I attended was about three years ago. Back to my story, I attended the wedding and it was giving the typical Nigerian wedding but I noticed something else. The traditional marriage was done after the white wedding. On the same day. Seems like I'm really behind on the current trends in Nigerian weddings cause I was surprised when I heard they were going to do the traditional wedding at the wedding hall. I didn't know they now did all the weddings together in one day. Anyways, I got to experience the famous African traditional marriage line for the first time. "We came to pluck a flower from your garden and plant it in our own", That unique line😂. I smiled to myself and said yeahh, I've finally heard this one with my ears.

After the traditional marriage rites were completed, the wedding party came up in full swing. I always tagged the party the most interesting part of a Nigerian wedding as it's the time where all wedding guests get to showcase whatever talents they brought to the wedding. From the DJ adding unnecessary beats to songs that were already okay as they were, to the caterers who go about, raising their voices at those serving and ensuring food is distributed to all guests, and to those who make sure they get a fair measure of attention on the dance floor, dancing like their lives depend on it. Even if it means dancing to a different beat probably playing in their heads, all these guests makes the ceremony more fun. Also, there are those guests that stay glued to their seats during the wedding, completely focusing on their phones, but secretly observing. I'm in this group of course. I can't be doing my kpop dances to Nigerian songs. I'll rather sit down😂.

Above all, I loved reuniting with my cousins and distant relations, most especially those I had lost their contacts. I was really glad I got to see them today. I then realized how I've missed the extroverted part of me. That part of me has been fueled again. Will probably be coming out soon.

Weddings are really nice events and I'm glad I was able to attend one before the start of school. If I was still in primary school, I would have been told to write an essay on how I spent my holiday😂. This was the only worthy of mention thing I did during this holiday. I would be resuming school hopefully by Monday. My holiday has come to an end (Sighs). Anyways, my day today was pretty much fun. I did enjoy it.


Header image was taken by me

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency