The Year Civilization was Reset

Log 1: The beginning

SOURCE

It's the year 4051, nothing looks the same. You would have imagined seeing a world that looked like an edifice straight out of a sci Fi movie with skyscrapers that nearly reaches space or flying vehicles or even humans teleporting from one location to another.

Hmmm...

Nature must have yelled "enough! I am taking back all you have taken from me" there are no buildings in sight, no road channels, nothing looked familiar only a vast expanse of vegetation. Green and seeming untouched by human greedy fingers.

The trees sit so dense providing a strong canopy that makes the day seem like night. As I journey across, I kept wondering what had happened, did I go back in time? What happened to all of civilization? Is this a dream?

I could barely remember all that had led to this moment nor why it seemed like I was back in the past. My wrist watch says I am in 4051 but the world appears to resemble what it was ten thousand years before 2024.

Log 2: Hope of Life
SOURCE

I have walked for nearly 2 hours with no humans in sight. I have arrived at the peak of a mountain in hopes of a better view. Just as I was about to lose hope thinking maybe I am the only human here.

In a distance I could hear the sound an axe would make when cutting down a tree. Looking in the direction of the sound I saw smoke and birds flying away as the tree fell to its end.

Without thinking I rushed towards the source of the sounds... I didn't know what to expect, would they be humans or would they be aliens with fangs and tails ?

As I got closer, I could hear them speak what sounded like my native tongue "Yoruba" .

Man 1: Oya fa soke, igi Yi ni a fi da no la le yi
( Oya lift it up, this tree is what we will use to cook tonight)

Man 2: Shey mi o mo ni? Mo Sha ti gbo
( Did I say I don't know? I have heard you)

I interjected.. enle oo (regular greeting) they immediately pointed their spears in my direction as a warrior would his enemy.

Thank God for the Yoruba lessons I took many years back. As calm as I could I explained my plight and they told me to come along with them to their village that I would understand better.

Log 3: Humanity's new found remedy

SOURCE

The civilization I had stumbled upon was called "Fafasoku". They live in huts, stored water in clay pots, used firewood to cook and most fascinating of all, they used herbs as their primary and only source of medication.

This was an interesting and new feat to me because the age I was coming from, we depended solely on manufactured medicine which often doesn't entirely get rid of what's wrong with you. It just treats the symptoms, after all if you were cured entirely, the hospital would run out of customers.

I was even more astonished by how healthy and vibrant they all were from their children to the elderly.

This led me to meet one of the elders who they called "Ala gbo" he was the one responsible for all the herbs and mixture the villagers consumed. He had apprentices under him. He was an elderly man with only his grey hair as proof, he looked vibrant and was as strong as a youth.

I asked him "how is it possible to depend solely on herbs and mixtures for their health?"

The response he gave me was both shocking and fascinating "gbo gbo oun ti omo eda ni lo ni aye Yi wa ninu aye, Kan la o ju re, ko de mo bi wa shey jan por"
(All that man needs in this world is in nature, just open your eyes and know how to mix it.)

Log ??!: Awake

From a distance I hear a subtle but consistent beep. Still in the conversation with Ala gbo when he suddenly turned to me and said... "It's time to go." I looked at him confused" is this man tired of me already?" "Or did I ask too many questions?"

He smiled and said no almost like he read my mind. Tapped my back and my eyes opened to my bedroom and my alarm for 7am.

Was it a dream or a visit to what the world is to come? I guess I'd never know.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency