Buying Ram for Sallah

With the recent removal of fuel subsidies in Nigeria, almost every commodity and service has seen a spike. This sallah period, known as the BIG Sallah, is marked by the slaughter of meat, popularly ram. Others that may afford cattle or Carmel also do.

Going to buy sallah ram means preparing your mind with a budget of N100,000 ($133) if you will be getting ram of admirable quality for a kill.
I’m from a mixed religious background, but I had the opportunity to follow my mom and sister to purchase a ram for the Sallah festival.

My younger sister had a cordial relationship with a seller who had gone to the far north to bring rams to the western part of the country to resell. This relationship was what we leveraged to get the ram we eventually bought for N70,000 ($93) without a hassle. This exact ram we bought would actually cost about N110,000 ($147) at another spot. There are usually people who buy from the main owners or rearers and resell at a much higher profit, though the buyer would be paying more.

We had choices to make and we saw other rams costlier and a few cheaper. The size of the ram often influences the cost. The cow went for as much as N500,000 ($667), and for the carmels,I did not get the opportunity to inquire.

I have always wanted to rear rams and goats, and this will be motivation for me to commence; however, I was advised to wait until after the sallah festival, when the rams would be cheaper.

Thank you for reading. I would love to have your comments and contributions.

IMAGES ARE MINE

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
22 Comments
Ecency