A very important lesson learnt from a wedding reception.

I thought I had learned what I wanted to know about wedding receptions from previous weddings I have attended, but my decision that day cost me a lot. What really happened?

I had a big brother named Faith; we always went out together, especially to parties. I love him so much, and I was like his handbag; I had no shame, so I always ask for more food at the party if we are not satisfied. One Saturday like that, a friend of his was having his wedding, and we were invited. We were supposed to meet at the church, but what fun is at the church? The main party happens at the reception. After we got the invitation card, we just went straight to check where the reception location was. On the day of the wedding, we waited for the church program to be over by monitoring it through phone calls.
Immediately we heard that movement to the reception had started, we decided to move too. Unfortunately for us, our car had a flat tire, so we had to manage it to the volcalizer shop for pumping, which means our time to get to the reception will be late too. Damn, people would have taken the favorable location at the reception.

A favorable location means a place where you will sit and get to see all the action taking place by the couples and the MC, and where the servers will be able to reach you on time.

Image souce unsplash
As soon as we got our tires pumped, we drove off to the location with speed. When we got to the location, a lot of people had already arrived. Trying to get a place to park was an issue too, so bro faith told me to go in and pick a good place for us to sit. Getting into the hall, the hall looked so straight to me. I mean, you have to pass in between chairs to get to the front seat, and the couples were at the extreme front side. I had to wait for my big brother to come since he was the expert in such situations.

When he got in, he saw me standing, took a look at the hall, and understood why I hadn’t sat down or chosen a place to sit. He hasn’t trained me for such a stage. At the extreme end of the hall were the cooks and their waiters, their cooler, and their plates. If the waiters were at the back, they will start serving from the front seat. So he asked us to move to the front seat. We sat there, and the program started. To our surprise, the waiters started serving from the back as people who sat at the back started taking the food from their tray.

Damn, we failed to consider the fact that we are all Nigerians, and now it has cost us getting food late. He then told me to act as if I wanted to urinate, he would then follow me behind and we would sit in the back seat. What a brilliant idea. I did as I was told, and we sat at the back. The next wave of waiters were the Idan waiters; they carried the tray above their heads and started going to the front so we couldn’t snatch any food. Damn, we forgot to consider that the waiters are also Nigerians. We then pretended like we were going back to our front seat, only to see people sitting there. We then sat in the middle.

Food was going to the front, and some strong souls were standing to take food from the trays of the waiters at the back. Why didn’t we think of that from the start? No one would see our face at the back if we had done that. When the waiters were taking too long to get to us, we stood up in our fullness and went to them for an inquiry. We were told rice has a finish and no more meat, but they have porridge with fish. We were like, Bring it like that, when it was brought. It was like food for a 5-year-old child. I was so angry, but I had to eat it like that, after that I had three bottles of Coke. Since that day, I have learned to always give a little tip to one of the waiters, and our food problem is solved.

Now if you attend a party with a very big hall, just get one of the waiters, give the waiter a little amount of money, and then see the wonder of God.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
38 Comments
Ecency