Playing a motherly role made me older than my age

At some point in a person's life, there is always that time that makes one independent and more mature than their age. sometimes when we do the unthinkable, we just sits back and wonder if we truly did that. There are sometimes in my life I even doubt I was not the one maybe a spirit or something else 🤷 but in reality it was me and it helped me to view life from a different perspective.


Few months after I wrote my ssce, I got a job in an organization and my monthly take home was about ₦20,000 plus other little tips I got from favorite customers. My god I was a big girl then cause there was nothing I wanted I don't get but then I was still this childish girl because my dad still foot my bills like my Christmas clothes, hair and shoes all thanks to my mom that always remind me to go ask my dad for money and save mine. So this sense of independency and taking up responsibilities was never in me.

But then that childish attitude stopped shortly after I lost my grandpa and both my parents and elder brother traveled home living me to take care of my siblings while I was still working. Before my parent traveled they left us with enough food stuff to last us until they arrived but all thanks to my four gluttonous brothers and their friends who turned our house into a free food joint. Whenever I leave for work, that's when my brothers friends always visits the house and my lovely siblings who don't know how to say no food in the house kept serving them.


One day I went to work and instead of running a single shift, I ran double shift because I needed to go out the next day to a concert. So I did a double shift my own shift and one of my colleagues shift so she will as well cover up mine. Before I reached home that day was about 9pm, I met the younger one crying and the rest sitting as if something bad had happened. Fear gripped me immediately and I asked what happened and then they told me there was no food in the house and since they ate breakfast there was nothing left for them to eat for lunch and dinner. Oh no!! I was so mad with my self for not checking the food stuff before leaving the house and at the same time I blamed them for how they careless it, running a free food restaurant for their friends.

But all the same I was never going to let them sleep hungry. I took my ATM card, withdrew about ₦15,000. I bought enough noodles and egg with 2k that night since it was the fastest. The next day I was at home, I went to our local market bought necessary things we need at home and I even withdrew an extra 5k. But all those while, It never downd on me that I just took up a responsibility not untill I came back from the concert I attended and My brain just reset. I was like "Ene you don mature oh" then I was like "true true oh you are a grown woman now". Before whenever my dad and mom leaves for their businesses and we are short of food I will tell my siblings to go and drink garri till my parent returns.🫣 But that day I wore the shoes of my mom and played a motherly role in the life of my siblings which for sure made me more matured and older than my age.


I know some of you might be wondering why I didn't call my parent to send us money for food stuff. The reason is because my hometown is located inside one bush where there is no electricity, good network connection neither good roads till date.🫣 Funny but it's the truth. We can't reach to them except they call us and before they can get us they have to walk to the village primary school to make a phone or walk towards the farm direction. And seeing my siblings state I can't help but to do what I did.


Image 1 source
Image 2 belong to me


This writing was initiated by #HiveNaija weekly prompt week 43 when was the first time you felt independent or older than your age?
Feel free to subscribe to the community and let's get to hear from you as well.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency