The perfect Monday

The perfect Monday

Photo by Tara Winstead

Mondays are known to be very annoying, I remember those days when I was in high school, one can be happy from Saturday to Sunday evening but as soon as the place starts becoming dark, your heart will begin beating. Have I done my assignments, have I ironed my uniforms, have I done this, have I done that? Mondays are annoying to people but to me, they are not only annoying but scary as well.

I thought if I graduated from school and started working, all would be fine, I wouldn't need to be so concerned about Mondays but trust me it became worse, as a teacher, on Monday, you have to do your best to appear neat, ensure your lesson plan is set, prepare everything that needs to be prepared and be set as though you are going to appear before the judgment throne.



Well, let's not paint that day black completely, it's not its fault, being the first working day, it's supposed to be like that, every fresh start requires proper preparation. I believe the problem is not with the day, it's with our mentality, we have developed so much fear for Mondays that even when we are on break, we still get scared or annoyed when a Monday is coming.

For once let's keep the boring Monday aside and have a perfect one. I woke up by 6:00 am checked my calendar and it was Monday. I can't express how happy I am, I rolled on my bed from left to right and played "Use in Trying by Alessia Cara" as I walked slowly like a bride into the bathroom. Took my bath and did the needful.



The song still playing, I made my breakfast and I was dining in peace without rushing. I checked my bag everything was set, I already had my lesson plan done and marked all assignments. I shook my head and continued eating. When I was done, I checked the time it was still 6:30 am.

I had more than enough cash on me but I chose to walk to school, I put my earpiece on, and in no time I was at work. Guess what? I was even the first person. " Hey Emreal, you are early today, what happened?" The principal teased me. "Guessed it's my perfect Monday" I replied as I walked into the staff room.



Work was smooth, everything was just working in my favor, as soon as I entered the classroom and taught for some time, it was 2:00 pm, hurray! Arriving home, Mom prepared my favorite dish. I didn't have to worry about what to cook. Hive promised to do a giveaway, no need to write just log in and take attendance and you are good to go. I had no assignment to mark, and no lesson plan, the principal said don't worry about it, that's your reward for coming early.

I had all the day to myself, I suddenly became the timekeeper. Time was moving the way I wanted it. I took a walk to my favorite spot and spent some time there watching some movies. After that, I went to the nearest shop got a chill Nutri-milk, and strolled back home.



My younger sister helped me iron what to wear the next day, just when I was about to sleep my principal called and asked me not to bother to write a lesson plan for the next day, she's going to take my class and I should also come to work anytime I want the next day. She has everything in control.

Instead of sleeping, I walked out to the nearest restaurant to eat because I was so excited, yeah it's my thing, anytime I am excited, I go to the nearest restaurant and get some delicious meal. I got another bottle of Nutri milk, and while still sipping, a text entered my phone, it was a credit alert, I won't tell you the amount, lol.



I didn't hesitate to order a plate of chicken pepper soup, I ate to my satisfaction. When I was done, I bought roasted fish and came back home. I couldn't even eat the fish because I was so full. I laid down in peace and slept like a baby, without worrying about the next day. What a Monday!

Grrrrring, Grrrrring, my phone rang, I angrily picked it up to turn off the alarm when I realized that the day had broken and it was a Monday, I checked times it was almost 7:00 am. Look at the lesson plan I was struggling to complete staring at me incompleted, hmmm. So all those beautiful moments were a dream. Gosh, if only wishes were horses.


Thanks For Reading

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency