My Definition Of Happiness

My Definition Of Happiness

Photo by Jill Wellington

Happiness is free but getting it is one of the most difficult things in life. Most people say they are finding happiness, I bet that is why they never get it. Happiness it not something you find, it's something you build for yourself.

It's so funny how that the definition of happiness means different things to different people, it's a kind of idiosyncratic. How life plays is something else. Some say my happiness is attached to having money, suddenly they get the money and after a while, you see them sad and depressed. If happiness is truly about the money why are you still sad?



Don't you think a lot of us are getting the whole thing wrong? I think life is quietly trying to teach us a lesson, true happiness in found within us and not on people or material things. I can assure you that happiness is a choice. It's something you decide to create for yourself deliberate. Does that mean that being happy takes away one's sorrows forever? no! Yet you can create an atmosphere for yourself where things are going south in your life but you are still happy.

I can't dispute the fact that money, material things and people bring happiness, if I say they don't I am a liar but it doesn't last. There are two kinds of happiness, temporary happiness and stable happiness. LoL, I know why I didn't use the word permanent, no matter how disciplined we are there are days we won't be able to control our emotions.



Material things, money and people, bring temporary happiness, they can make you feel fulfiled as long as they are available but as soon as they are gone, things will become worse, that happiness they brought will go with them. Another crazy thing attached to happiness derived from them is with time when you get too used to them, Incase they don't leave, you will become tired of them and as such they may no longer make you happy.

Take for instance, you went to the market and bought a very nice shoe you have be craving for, I believe at moment you would be filled with joy, you will feel like to use it almost everyday but as you continue to use the shoe, it soon becomes obsolete to you even if it's trending out there. The joy you derive from it will no longer be there. It's same with life. Humans get tired of eternal things easily.



A poor man gets happy when he has money, but the rich don't because it's something they are used to already, a childless woman gets happy when she conceive but the one who has many children doesn't see that as an achievement. Sooner than expected, the poor man when he dwells in money for long, it will stop making him happy. The childless woman, when she starts bearing children, it would no long be something big to her. Achievements, material things, money , people bring happiness but it's just for a while, with time it will fade.

True and genuine happiness rest on our inside, when we are able to tap into it, we will have the true taste of happiness. Some people claim there is nothing like happiness but that's a fat lie, happiness exist. And anyone can have it both the rich, the poor, the sick and the healthy ones . It's doesn't respect personalities, if you just know the right formula you will land at it.



I have experienced to some extent happiness that comes from the external and to be honest, i wished I never experienced them, because when those things left, I had to start from the scratch looking for happiness again. Do you want to be happy? Don't look for it from anything external, create it from within.

To be frank, currently my happiness is not attached attached to anything, it's something I decided to have, I build it like a character in me. Whether in good or bad times, I can tap into it. With or without people, I can still arrive there, With money or no money, failure or success I can still manipulate my ways through.



So beloved, choose to be happy, when good things happen to you be happy, when the worst things are happening to you, decide to be happy as well and with consistent practice, you would be amaze how happy you have become with or without external influences.


Thanks For Reading

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency