I Don't Feel Pains; A Childhood Memory

I Don't Feel Pains; A Childhood Memory

Photo by Alexander Grey

Childhood is one part of life that a lot of us cherish so much. Each time I see children playing I wish I could turn back the hands of time. One thing I love about being a child is the fact that one has zero worries. There are no bills coming from anywhere to choke you, all you have to do is eat, play, and sleep.

I have done a lot of silly things as a child, and trying to pick just one out of the many is even more difficult. Back then my aunt sells palm wine. I was her favorite child, and for that reason, I am always with her in her palm wine joint. But then, I don't find palm wine appealing. I could serve people but to taste it, I tried my best to avoid going to that extent.

My dad loves watching Jackie Chan's movies, each time he goes out there and sees a new release, he buys it and brings it home. we had a different Jackie Chan movie collection. Subsequently, I fell in love with this actor. It got to an extent that if Jackie Chan is not in a movie, I don't find it interesting.



One of those days, I stumbled on the drunken master, I am sure most of you have watched it. I love that movie. Jackie is as normal as any other man when he doesn't drink, but as soon as he lays his hands on wine, he becomes a lion hehe.

You know children wahala, after watching that movie, I was so inspired. Those days we fight to show seniority, prove points, and so on. First, I started mimicking the actor's moves anytime I was alone, then subsequently, I started thinking of how to get to superhuman strengths.

Drunken Master became my favorite movie, Do you know why? I don't see what they are doing in the movie as a movie trick because Jackie used to take wine before he fought well, since we sell palm wine, the movie can't be telling lies. Wine is real, so that can't be a lie. And again, my dad used to tell me that most of the scenes in Jackie's movies are real. I knew that somehow if only I could lay my hands on wine. I am sure, I would become unbeatable too.



Gradually, anytime I went out to look for trouble, I would come to my aunt's joint, and beg her to give me palm wine, she didn't say no, she always gave me a little. I really missed her, she is of blessed memory now. After sipping palm wine I would start misbehaving, running Helter skelter. Sometimes I hit my head on the wall and told my peers that I didn't feel pain. And it's not as if I don't really feel pain, I used to feel pain but just to prove a point I will endure the pain and my friends would be hailing me.

But one day, a guy withstood me and said if truly I didn't feel pain I should allow him to beat me and I should not fight back. Foolish me, I agreed. I quickly ran to my aunt's shop sip a cup of palm wine and ran back.

I thought the guy was going to take it slow and easy on me but I was disappointed, I didn't even stand well when he gave me a very terrible blow on my stomach, ah! It entered well but I smiled and laughed, I said odeshisi ( meaning I felt nothing) I got that from a movie titled Isakaba 🤣 that one is a story for another day. When I said odeshisi, the guy gathered energy and gave me one on the faces, beloved I didn't know where I was again, everywhere suddenly became dark. When I opened my eyes, I saw myself on the ground with my mother standing beside me.

Out of Shame, I stood up and started crying without anyone telling me a thing. To date, if you ask me how my mom got to that place I can't tell. From that day, I stopped sipping palm for good.


Thanks For Reading

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency